We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very authentic - including dust & infestations” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenella Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenella Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 8 Blackheath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very authentic - including dust & infestations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Very attractive looking 'old world' property but that's where the charm ends.

The standard double room is the smallest room I have ever stayed in. It is less than 9 foot square, which means there is no space for a wardrobe, just a tiny hanging rail & a small chest of drawers, with most of the area taken up by the double bed.

In spite of the room being so small, the owners must have still found it too great an effort to clean, as all surfaces were thick with dust and the area under the bed was just horrific. On top of this there was an infestation of moths in the curtains.

Breakfast was ok, but again, the dining room floor was covered in old bits of food and dirt and didn't look like it had been cleaned for weeks.

The owners really need to get their act together. Buy themselves a vacuum Cleaner! Dirty isn't quaint. Rooms need cleaning every now & again. Also guests need to be warned that the 'standard double rooms' are really just single rooms with a double bed squeezed in.

Room Tip: Avoid the standard double room and if you suffer from asthma, bring a face mask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    50
    16
    6
    7
See reviews for
20
75
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

This property is only a couple minutes walk from the restaurants, cafes, pub and railway station in Blackheath. It is an attractive large old house. There is some off-street parking. The manager was very friendly. The common room is the first room you walk into. It is a large area and has couches, a large table, TV, books etc. A nice place to spend some time and maybe meet some other guests. And just as well because our room was very small. I don't mind a small room but this was one of the smallest I have ever stayed in. Plus our room needed a bit of TLC as well. We had a verandah which was nice. Maybe there are larger rooms but they don't have verandahs. Maybe that is the trade-off. I believe the food here is good but we didn't get around to trying it.

Blackheath was a small sleepy town 10 to 15 years ago. It is becoming a bit trendier these days. This Guest House has the makings of being a very nice place but it just isn't quite there yet. The small room will always be a problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room. If there are large rooms but they don't have verandahs, and you want acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickey_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
120 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

I don't usually use words like "charming" when describing places, but there's no way to avoid it: this place is. The hostess, Katherine, was terribly nice and looked after everything we needed. Our room was small, but it was comfortable, and it opened out onto the veranda where we sat, drank wine and nursed our post-hike aches.

It's convenient too: Glenella is very close to everything in Blackheath...restaurants, shops...even the train station is only a few minutes' walk. Of course, breakfast was even more convenient as Katherine turned out an excellent hot meal in the dining room each day.

One piece of advice for anyone planning to use this as home base for a hike in the Blue Mountains National Park: drive to/from the park, or arrange to be picked up, especially if you do the Grand Canyon hike. You end up a 45 minute walk from the hotel.

One final note, for any French speakers planning to hike in the Blue Mountains (and we met several): Katherine speaks excellent French.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LtDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

What a lovely surprise this historic guest house is!
We only stayed one night but wished we'd booked for longer.
The rooms and the guest areas are full of old world charm and the whole place has a cosy charm.
The location is perfect, just down the street from the centre of Blackheath with it's cafes and restaurants and antique shops.
And it's right in the centre of the mountains close to lots of bushwalks etc.
The owners are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was a treat!
We loved it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieBushSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We were greeted by the smiley young lady who ran the guest house (and lives down in the basement with her dog - whom we didn't get to see though) and shown to our room. She was v helpful and pleasant and recommended the Escarpment restaurant on the main strip in Blackheath for an evening meal
The room was as expected. Bed was comfortable, french windows were a nice touch, though remember this is a guest house and not a hotel, and you get what you pay for.
Breakfast room was light and airy and the food was above average, but possibly a tad basic if you're used to Sydney brekkie.
If you want a walk off the wide tracks where they quote times x3 longer than they actually take, the young lady can recommend a very good walk the other side of the train line. It's among some scraggly rocks and cliffs with good views down Megalong Valley. It's called Centennial Pass and joins into a few other paths aswell. We did'tn have a map and it's a challenging, less walked loop than many of the Blue Mtn main trails (bar the occasional rock climber)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mijango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackheath
0.8 km away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
8.8 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.5 km away
The George Boutique Hotel
The George Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Blackheath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
0.6 km away
Blackheath Motor Inn
Blackheath Motor Inn
#2 of 5 in Blackheath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
2.1 km away
Secrets Hideaway
Secrets Hideaway
#1 of 8 in Blackheath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenella Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenella Guesthouse

Property: Glenella Guesthouse
Address: 56 Govetts Leap Rd, Blackheath, New South Wales 2785, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Blackheath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Blackheath
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,546 - ₹ 8,195
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenella Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage-listed Glenella Guesthouse is within walking distance of local shops, restaurants and bush walks. Public transport is within minutes from the property. All rooms offer private en-suite facilities with queen beds. Lounge has fireplace for winter, flat-screen TV & access to a fridge. Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenella Guesthouse Blackheath, Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing