We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
156
20
9
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
20
9
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool house other guests meal plan fish taco sashimi blue house luxury hotel the entire staff little touches hot stone health concerns open air remote location through the roof amazing experience fell in love
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2018

We as a couple recently spent 4 nights in the pool house and if you desire a complete getaway from the hustle and bustle of life then this is perfect .
The team here are amazing,the food delicious,and the service fabulous .
The views from every location on the property are amazing ,there are plenty of activities on offer or just time to enjoy the peace and tranquility.
A special place.
Congratulations to the team .

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank princess022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

Just got back from a 4 day stay at Verana in February and it was a memorable vacation. The professional pictures hardly do it justice. Every room and common area has unbelievable views. We stayed in the pool house. The beds are comfortable and the mosquito nets are put down for you each night. They are very good quality. Even though the temps got down to the mid 60 F, we were never cold (good blankets). The sounds of the jungle are soothing and the sun isn't too invasive in the mornings because it rises behind the ridge. I can't say enough about the staff, Jorge, Moses and Frederico were awesome. The whole staff speaks great English and are both friendly and very attentive. One of the best things is interacting with other guests. We made several friends and enjoyed talking about the days adventures at happy hour each night. Other guests chose to keep to themselves and everyone there respects privacy. We got the meal plan, which I think is the way to go. The meals were all great. Some other reviews complained about meal cost or the final bill. I found the meal plan to be a decent value. Given the hike up to the property, trying to eat in Yelapa every night would be a burden. The drinks were reasonable for hotel prices. We brought a few bottles of wine and some tequila, which kept our final bill down. The room had a mini fridge, but beer at the resort was so affordable, it isn't worth bringing it up. If you stayed in the Blue House, you might try eating in Yelapa (15 min. walk), since it is at the bottom of the hill. For activities, we were able to find the Yelapa Falls ourselves, I would highly recommend fishing, even if you are a beginner. They have rods, bait them and take care of removing fish from the hook, all you have to do is reel them in. We caught 12 bonitas (mackerel family) in 2 hours and they made us fresh ceviche and sashimi for lunch with our catch. We also saw whales during our trip. Some of the other guests went on the beach hopping excursion and saw whales close up, others saw them on the water taxi ride in. If it is the right season (winter) you have a chance to see whales from sea or land. We have done a few different open air resorts and houses on other trips to the Caribbean, Mexico and Costa Rica, we have enjoyed them all, but have experienced a few drawbacks like unwelcome critters or noise. Verana was the first open air resort we have stayed at that had zero drawbacks. The only noise at night was crickets, which changed to birds in the morning. We would just lay in bed and listen to the magnificent sounds. They are so far above the town that you can't hear the dogs and roosters. Bugs were never that bad. The only critters we saw was a passive iguana who hung out on the wall above our space when the sun was out. He never moved all day.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank swaeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

Verana is a beautiful and eco-friendly hotel that is located on a side of a mountain. It has stunning views of Yelapa as well as the bay. We stayed in the V-House which was a v-shaped tree-house that was exposed to the elements so you could hear jungle noises and the waves crashing on the beach. Besides the beauty, the hotel staff, especially Fredrico and Jorge, were some of the best I’ve come across. They were friendly, willing to accommodate any request, professional, etc. And the food is excellent; it’s light Mexican fare and healthy. Verana really is a once in a lifetime experience and a must try!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

We stayed at Verana over Christmas with our three kids for a week. I was looking for something off the beaten path and that would be a bit of an adventure and not the typical resort beach thing. I will say that the beauty of Verana is undeniable. The palapa/ houses are very nice depending on which one you are staying in. We stayed in the Blue House because their are 5 of us with older kids so we needed the space. I will say the Blue House could use some updating especially since you have to hike up the hill everyday for food or drinks. It’s a steep up hill hike that takes about 15 minutes. We didnt mind it so much but by the end of the week is was getting old. The hike into town was way easier and the food was way better. They do have a meal plan at Verana but we chose not to do that and experience what the town had to offer. We should have eaten every meal in town. At check out we were presented with the bill for food and I almost fell over. It was more than the cost of the house for the week! And we didnt eat every meal there! I am assuming that is how they make money. When you eat at Verana they never give you a bill and you are not required to sign anything so you never know what anything costs. There is no price for the food on the menus only on the wine menus do they list price. It’s just so underhanded and it makes you feel so taken advantage of. They know its a rip-off and the people that work their know how much of a rip-off it is also. I will say that Jorge and Eddie are the best thing about Verana. Jorge works mostly as the bartender and Eddie mostly as the wait staff but they fill in other jobs when needed. They both were so kind and wonderful. If Verana looses them they will be in a tough spot. We also had a cooking class with Marcos who is the chef and he just started there this year. He was lovely and asked that they not charge for the cooking class because, some excuse that he made up,he knows what a rip-off it is. When we were with Marcos we found out that he used to work in San Fran at a favorite restaurant of ours so I think he felt we knew what good food is so he was feeling remiss about how much they were charging for just ok food.
I feel like Verana could be so wonderful if they could just figure out a way to make a profit with out gouging you on the food and any of the extras they offer.
Pam
Mill Valley,CA

Room Tip: Rooms up the hill closer to the pool.
Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
7  Thank PamelaB1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017

This hotel is beautiful, rooms are built upon a hill with the first being just over the water, overlooking the dock. Some of the rooms do not have walls and are built into the jungle - there are insects at night. The grounds are the perfect setup for an active couples adventure as there is a path through the trees that leads to dining areas and other rooms - there are around 300 stairs and an inclined path - worth mentioning for people who are looking to relax and get around easily or for those with health concerns.

The rooms themselves are really cool and the staff is all very helpful and kind.

The town of Yelapa is a 20-30 minute walk along a trail, which will also lead you to beach access.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brittany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews