We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Yelapa's finest ( uno de Los Mejores en Yelapa)”

Restaurant el Manguito
Ranked #5 of 26 Restaurants in Yelapa
Cuisines: Mexican
Good for: Child-friendly
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

Breakfast, lunch, dinner, drinks. Every time I've been here I've been SO glad I chose this place! Luis and Angelica, the owners, are wonderful, and the service as well as the meals, are top notch!
You will be beyond glad that you came to eat here! Lots of tables, right on the river, and great for groups too!!
And oh the breakfast smoothies - yum!!
The mango margarita will knock your socks off too, SO good!
Provecho.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Cara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

This lovely spot hangs over the river. The owner is most welcoming and has built a reputation as a favorite of locals who make the walk up the river just past the bridge.

Everything from a tuna that just was caught, to traditional mexican dishes, and a couple oddities like hamburgers! Had a handmade fresh passion fruit margarita.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank jonp891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Good potent margaritas and well prepared dishes. Especially enjoyed the breaded fresh fish filet with nuts and the stuffed chicken breast, as well as the pineapple coconut shrimp. Also one of the few good places open for lunch other than the marginal beach front restaurants. They also serve good breakfasts. Definitely worth a visit.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank QUEENM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016

While it is a bit off the beaten track for most who visit Yelapa, if you like authentic Mexican food, that is home made from the absolute freshest ingredients, this is the place. Unfortunately, there are no signs in town that direct you to El Manguito, so be aware that you will need to walk up river. The only bridge across the river is only a few steps from El Manguito. You can walk upriver on either side, but if you are on the south side you will need to cross over the bridge. At that point there is a small sign that directs you on up river to the restaurant. Great food (in fact the best Mexican food we have had while spending two weeks in the Puerto Vallarta area. Yelapa is a don't miss destination, and El Manguito is a don't miss restaurant when in Yelapa.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CPG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

We had been told about this place prior to visiting Yelapa, so planned to eat lunch here after our hike to the upper waterfall. We had only brought water on the hike, so we were hungry by the time we crossed the bridge and made the short stroll from there to the restaurant.

The restaurant is located on the river and is surrounded by jungle foliage, quite beautiful. We hadn't needed our bug spray on the hike, but were glad to have it a the restaurant as there were were a few mosquitos around when we visited.

We ordered the shrimp quesadillas to share, and we each had a soft drink.

The food took awhile, but we could hear chopping in the kitchen and it was clear that our meal was being made to order (we dropped in at an odd time - late afternoon - and we were the only customers).

The quesadillas were excellent. The shrimp were cut up into small pieces and mixed with sautéed chopped vegetables prior to being grilled inside flour tortillas, along with cheese. A dash of hot sauce made this a perfect lunch.

Great spot, would love to check it out for dinner.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank kayteeYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant el Manguito also viewed

Cabo Corrientes, Jalisco
Yelapa, Costalegre
 
Yelapa, Costalegre
Cabo Corrientes, Jalisco
 
Yelapa, Costalegre
 

Been to Restaurant el Manguito? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing