We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star lunch”
Review of The Lickfold Inn

The Lickfold Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Restaurants in Petworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 40
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Lickfold Inn is a traditional English pub that supplies a refined food and beverage offering, not only to the local community but the surrounding area and further a field over time. The kitchen is the operational engine and heartbeat of the Lickfold Inn and a huge amount of time and effort has been invested in it to ensure that the food we prepare and serve is outstanding. The state of the art equipment that has been installed into the specially designed kitchen allows the passionate kitchen team to cook to the highest level and produce their very best. The end result is progressive, delicious tasting food that captures the surrounding area, and that you see on the menu. The restaurant is situated upstairs in the Lickfold's beautiful dining room. With its Tudor features and exposed beams it is the perfect place to savour and enjoy Tom and Graham's original and fresh cuisine. The restaurant has been designed to create an elegant and relaxing atmosphere that is serious about the flavours and food served, and here we proudly offer to you the very best food and drink along with a friendly, attentive and knowledgeable service.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Not our first visit to The Lickfold Inn, and certainly won’t be our last.

Drawing the designated driver short straw, I was pleased that we were able to enjoy the tasting menu (see picture). My three fellow diners decided to choose the wine flight just to rub the salt in my wounds

Joking aside, the standard of the Lickfold food is amazing, with my personal favourite being the sublime Wild Garlic and Dorset Snail ravioli. The three wine-flighters were very impressed with our sommelier’s choices, choosing a lot of wines that we wouldn’t necessarily have picked ourselves.

We all would highly recommend a visit, and if the budget allows, go for the tasting menu with wine flight. You won’t regret it!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Sicros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

We were lucky to get a booking as it was Easter. However, this was not until 14.30 and it was not until almost 15.30 that our starters were served. We did not stay for coffee, but our three course meal was not completed until nearly 17.00.

The food when it eventually came was excellent and the service was good but it took so much time. I appreciate that good food should not be rushed but this was too much.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hawkins739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

The food here was outstanding, a nice surprise given the exterior is a pretty, but quaint, traditional pub. We came for the Sunday roast and were delighted by the quality we found.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank clioo2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

we had a wonderful celebration lunch for16 people. the service was brilliant and the food was very very good. we were made to feel special

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ele621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

On arrival there was no welcome or acknowledgement of our presence. When eventually shown to our table the attitude of the staff was that of indifference. The service was slow and the quality of the food was very disappointing and very overpriced. They seem to think that they are running a high end restaurant when in fact it is nothing of the sort. The Headwaiter and staff were obviously fawning over a party of regulars at the expense of the new guests. I would never recommend this establishment and certainly would not even think of a return visit. Just for the record, I am no novice at dining out and have visited and enjoyed a broad spectrum of establishments from top end London restaurants to those on the Devon seaside so I do have comparisons to draw upon.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Martyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lickfold Inn also viewed

Petworth, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Petworth, West Sussex
Tillington, West Sussex
 
Petworth, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 

Been to The Lickfold Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing