We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but could be improved.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Butlins Shoreline Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bognor Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butlins Shoreline Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good but could be improved.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Just back from 4 night stay in Butlins Shoreline Hotel. This is our 2nd visit and would go again.

The hotel was spotless as was the resort generally which is amazing given the amount of customers there are (not to mention a few undesirables also). So well done. The food is overpriced which led us to eat off site which is fine. You could eat cheaply in say Burger King on site but not a proper meal. The drinks are reasonable priced but more bar staff would be useful in a few of the bars and pubs. The activities were good and the football trainer was brilliant.

A few of the pay for activities are overpriced but then again you dont have to do them, but plenty of free stuff to do if your budget cant stretch.

I dont think day trippers shoud be allowed in unless the resort is very quiet as I believe residents should not have to wait in line behind someone who has only paid for the day. Also I am worried that the new hotel will over congest the park so hopefully Butlins have plans to also expand activities (both free and pay for) as well as bar staff etc.

Would I stay again yes I would. It is cheap given the hotel and activities (a poor mans centre Parks if you like) However I have been to both CP and Butlins and truthfully I prefer the way CP looks and feels but Butlins is more fun and my kids prefer Butlins by far. The staff are excellent, the place is clean and hotel comfy and if the kids are happy then so am I. But before booking again I will see how the new hotel is affecting overcrowding and service.

But well doen Butlins for a great week.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 419 and there is a humming noice in the evening so dont stay in that one I would r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 12SJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    139
    42
    12
    16
See reviews for
297
49
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Great family room with partial seaview. Hotel was clean and food in hotel restaurant was excellent. We found Butlins staff to be helpful and polite and very approachable. Will certainly return next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJSStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed at Butlins Shoreline Hotel for our first trip to Butlins Bognor Regis. It was a pleasant stay. Hotel was clean, safe, and excellent customer service. My daughter was so excited to have her bed in a separate space from my bedroom. The hotel staff really do make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Hotel location was central to all activities and easy to find. We had continental breakfast which offered a variety of hot and cold food and beverages. I don't own a car and my daughter is doesn't travel well by coach so my only options was to travel by train. I knew it would be a long journey traveling with luggage but surprising enough it was very easy and simple to get to Bognor Regis. Once we arrived at the Bognor Regis train station taxis were readily available. Overall the stay at Shoreline Hotel and in Butlins was excellent!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mumnchild2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Ever careful, we checked out the 360 degree video tour of the room on the Butlins website and the room looked good. It was nice to find that it was even better when we got there. The Nelson Stateroom was luxurious. Other rooms in the hotel we discovered were also of a very high standard - well we had used the hotel the year before but had wanted to treat ourselves this time and to one of those staterooms with the huge balcony with patio table and chairs.

The comfortable King size bed was ... big! The facilities (with fridge) where perfectly adequate. The view through the panoramic windows of the sea just 100 yards away across a grass bank, a minor road and a footpath was fantastic. Yes it probably was made better by the excellent weather and the great sunsets. The cost was acceptable and affordable by the great offer of a huge 50% reduction on booking it again, whilst there, for the same time next year - it doesn't get much better than that.

The staff at the hotel were friendly and very helpful - so nice to discover such a high standard of service.

The reason for our visit to the hotel was to enjoy the Butlins Big Weekend with lots of good Sixties Bands - we were not disappointed!

Room Tip: See before you buy ... if you can! Take some extras with you even if you think they won't be nec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebelcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We are a family of four with two boys aged 8 and 6. We regularly visit Center Parcs for short breaks in the school holidays but felt it was becoming a bit "same old" so had a change and plumped for Butlins at Bognor Regis in February half term. We selected to stay in the Shoreline Hotel and booked a Hooks Cabin for our stay. We also pre-booked half board dining in the hotel restaurant. The cost of the break including food was £150 less than we would have paid for a Center Parcs Fri-Mon break at half term so at this stage all was good. Butlins sent out a holiday guide the week before our visit in order that we could start to plan any activities we wished to partake in prior to our visit.

Upon arrival at the park (12.15pm) we were directed to the hotel car park by the gate security team and told to enquire at the hotel as to room availability as rooms were often ready for occupation prior to the 3.00pm check in time. We were not optimistic as being able to check in this early but sure enough when we got to the desk a room was indeed ready for us. The room itself was pleasantly surprising. Firstly upon opening the door there was a smell of bleach which to me was very comforting as I like clean! There was firstly an alcove type bunk area for the children with cross over bunks, shelf area for clothes and a tv/dvd. Next door to the bunk area was the bathroom. This was spotlessly clean with an overbath shower, half recessed sink and concealed cystern toilet. The bathroom also had a huge heated towel rail, handy for drying towels post swimming pool visits. The main area of the room was much bigger than expected. Again, like the bunk area, there was shelving for storage of clothes with a single rail for hanging garments and a safe for valuables. There was a comfortable king size bed, bedside tables with subdued lighting built into the headboard and two armchairs and table arranged in a pleasant seating area by the full length windows which looked directly out over the park but viewing to the left gave a sea view. The room also contained a long countertop which housed a flat panel tv and tea/coffee facilities. There was a stool under the counter with mirror over which served well as a seating area for hairdrying/make-up application. Also under the counter was a mini fridge with enough space for drinks/milk etc. We were extremely pleased with the accommodation so moved on to explore the park.

Lots of the activities and dining options at Butlins are contained under the central Skyline Pavillion. At Bognor there was a good selection of eating options housed in the pavillion (coffee shop/Burger King/pancake house etc) but it was often difficult to secure seating as parents used available seating to watch over their children playing in the central multi-level playground area. The playground itself was good and our boys enjoyed a few sessions of play here during our stay. There were also small funfair rides in the pavillion such as ladybird and aeroplane rides. Access into Hotshots bowling and pool area and also the swimming pool was gained from the pavillion. This is where the problems for our family arose. Along the pathways in the pavillion and at the entry to all of the facilities were huge banks of arcade machines of every conceivable type - driving games, fruit machines, teddy bear grabbers, small motorised rides - everything. It was virtually impossible to access any of the indoor facilities without having to walk through these arcades. The inevitable questions of "can I have a go" "can I try" were fired at us continually everywhere we went and despite outlining to our boys that they could play the games after dinner, we were met with tantrums and tears from otherwise well behaved boys. This became very tiresome all day every day and was my biggest criticism of the park. I highlighted to Butlins in my comments card at the conclusion of our stay they need to take a more responsible view of gambling and gaming and house the arcade machines in one area where parents can choose whether or not to visit. Hardly likely to happen as they are looking for guests to part with as much cash as possible, but nevertheless it would be a more responsible approach.

Outside the pavillion, the activity garden housed a lot of the outside activity options such as climbing wall, sand volleyball, mini golf, football park and a bungee trampoline. This area was beautifully landscaped with grasses and spiky planting mixed with decking and co-ordinating hardcore and was very well maintained. The activity garden led to the fun fair. The fun fair rides at Bognor were not modern thrill rides but served perfectly well for our boys and we had several fun visits to the fair. There was a selection of approx 6 rides and included a carousel, dodgems, a paratrouper/umbrella ride and a small pirate ship. I must mention the funfair staff here as they were absolutely safety conscious with harnesses checked, height restrictions monitored and safety instructions clearly issued at each ride. There was also access to the beach from Butlins accessed from a secure gate at the rear of the park. The park is a 15 minute stroll along the seafront to Bognor town.

The organised children's activities were very well delivered and the Redcoats worked incessantly to keep the children well entertained, especially Louis who seemed to work 24/7 and popped up at most activities we attended. My boys especially enjoyed the gardening activity and brought home decorated plant pots containing tomato and carrot plants which are now sprouting nicely!

There was a great cinema at Butlins Bognor which we visited during our stay. Prior to arrival I was expecting to see old movies listed for viewing but the options were The Muppets and Monster in Paris - two new releases. Admission was £4 - half the price we would have paid to view at our local cinema. Pre-booking some activity passes also proved cost effective for us as they included turns on bungee trampoline, climbing wall and go-karts saving £5 on the price if booked on the day.

After partaking in numerous activities we got to sample the food in the hotel restaurant. I was again really surprised by the quality and array of food on offer. On our first evening we were greeted by the host and shown around the buffet viewing the various starter, main course and dessert options. We were seated each evening and an order was taken for our drinks. There was a central island station which housed chilled starters, salad bar and soup options. The starter selections during our stay were different every evening offering a good variety - choices like pate, prawn cocktail, smoked salmon, terrines and layered vegetables - all beautifully presented. The hot buffet was delicious offering something for everyone. There was a different roast meat every evening with delicious beef and yorkshire pudding on Sunday, a different curry each evening and at least 3 other options like fish, chilli, bourbon chicken etc. There was also a made to order pasta option where chef would make a pasta dish for you with a tomato or cheese sauce. Back to the central island for desserts where there was the choice of at least 4 desserts each evening and also a cheese board with a good selection of quality cheeses and accompanying biscuits. There was even a kids buffet with a lowered counter so they could serve themselves and choices were kid favourites like fish fingers, chicken goujons, chicken korma and hot dogs.

We felt the restaurant was very impressive. We only experienced one issue whilst dining there, our diet cokes arrived and tasted very watery. I spoke to our waiter about this issue and the drinks were replaced immediately without question - excellent service. Breakfasts were just as good with a vast array of options both hot and cold. Restaurant prices are though quite expensive if not pre-booked - from memory dinner was £14.50 for adults and £9.50 for children, on our pre-book option children ate free so cost of dinner was £26 for 4.

Overall we had a good stay and took part in lots of different activities. Staying in the Shoreline Hotel was a great choice for accommodation being very central to activities, enjoying visits from Billy Bear and being spotlessly clean with good food. I would say if you are prepared to spend pounds on gaming machines, can cope with the tantrums or you are able to divert your children away from the gaming machines then Butlins is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JosieJ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bognor Regis
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Beachcroft Hotel
2.5 km away
Premier Inn Bognor Regis Hotel
1.4 km away
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
The Royal Norfolk Hotel
#7 of 9 in Bognor Regis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#8 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
7.9 km away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
1.5 km away
Selwood Lodge
Selwood Lodge
#9 of 9 in Bognor Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlins Shoreline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlins Shoreline Hotel

Property: Butlins Shoreline Hotel
Address: Upper Bognor Road, Bognor Regis PO21 1JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Bognor Regis
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,398
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy a luxury short break at the stylish Shoreline Hotel right in the heart of the beautiful seaside resort of Butlins Bognor Regis. Plenty of features designed to keep you and our younger guests happy and by taking care of all the details, you'll be sure to have a relaxing and enjoyable break. Beautifully light and airy rooms with floor to ceiling windows, comfy leather furniture and flat-screen TV. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Butlins Shoreline Bognor Regis
Hotel Butlins Shoreline
Butlins Shoreline Hotel Bognor Regis, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing