We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little hotel, just don't be in room 1 above kitchen if you want to sleep before 1am”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hare & Five Hounds Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Fantastic little hotel, just don't be in room 1 above kitchen if you want to sleep before 1am”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

The hotel itself is white and clean and the italian restuarant underneath makes it even better, the area around this hotel is NOT so qaint, it feels like the hotel has been placed there by mistake, however while working in the area I found this perfect, pail £29 for a triple room !! bargain and the rooms have a lovely power shower great decor, really clean! My only complaint is that I had read a review on here about being above the kitchen, which i wished i would have remembered, as i only realised when it come to about 9pm and the banging from below was pretty bad, I am someone who needed sleep for my job the next day, however the other rooms are out the way, so just dont have number 1 ! The resturant was lovely, we had calzones £7.99.. not too bad, with ciabatta bread and olives complimentary and the staff are great !!

Room Tip: Not number 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flying2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    33
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
34
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights over the New Year weekend for £78, room only.
The room and bathroom were both spacious and clean. Although the beds did not get made/coffee topped up - I assume this was because of it being a New Years day.
We were in room 11, right over the restaurant and found it quite noisy with the music not being turned off until 1am, but this did not bother us as we were going to bed at that time anyway.
All the staff were friendly and helpful and I would recommend The Hare & Five Hounds if you are looking for somewhere close to the West Bromwich football ground/town centre which is within walking distance. Only 20 minutes to the Merry Hill Shopping centre by car too!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wantage71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed for one night on a Friday on the way back home from Cheltenham racecourse. The room was only £29.00 from laterooms.com so was an absolute bargain. room was clean and comfortable if not a touch on the small side and could have definitely done with a bedside lamp to make it a bit cosier. Curtains etc looked fairly new though. We checked in no problem with the restaurant manager as it was early evening. Luckily we had pre booked an evening meal in their restaurant as it was busy with Christmas parties. Didn't opt for breakfast but the staff when checking out were very friendly and pointed us in the right direction of the motorway - it had been dark when we arrived so God and good neighbours helped us find it! The food is amazing and I would stay a more upmarket Italian fare with more seafood and meat dishes than pizza/pasta. They had live music going -possibly just for party night? But this was turned down at midnight. If we hadn't had such a long day we would have been down there partying with them!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PK2Cramlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Booked to stay here on 24th & 25th November to visit family in West Midlands and do some shopping. The hotel is located 5 minutes from junction1 of the M5. The location is fairly suburban on a cut through road to West Bromwich town centre - not that you'll hear much noise.
On arrival the check in with the owner was quick and efficient and there was a huge well lit car park to the rear.

On entering the room it was a little chilly, but soon resolved by turning the raidiator up a notch. We were in the family room - consisted of a double and single bed. The room was a nice size with 2 windows. The decor was neutral/ white with a splash of colour in the form of some very good quality and very tasteful soft furnishings. The beds were comfortable and the quality fo the pillows and bed linen very good. There were plenty of coffee and tea and even biscuits!
The bathroom mirrored the same quality of the bed room and the towels were white and fluffy. The shower was great and the toiletries a really nice touch. The whole room was immaculate.
Breakfast was a continental affair - However this was far better than I had expected. Hot drinks, juice, cereals, toast (the bread is top notch and tastes great), fruit, yoghurts and even cheese, hams and boiled eggs! The service was great and the ladies serving us were extremely helpful.

The restarant is Italian - However we ate in the restaurant on Sunday and took advantage of the traditional Sunday Roast menu. This was really nice and offered a good choice, well cooked and flavoursome. My only regret is not trying the restaurant on Saturday and having the full italian experience.

Great!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walsall
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

needed a couple of days time out from stress and we found it. the bed was like sleeping on feathers with some1 holding ya head as you slept... not too soft or to hard and it was massive. nice and quiet room was comfortable and no stress needed to work all the gadgets.. if there was 1 thing ok 2 things i would change it would be that we needed a shelf in the bathroom and a lamp on the table. but nothing that got us to stressed.. all in all a lovely clean room with staff that were polite.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladyjane68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bromwich
1.3 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham West
0.8 km away
Premier Inn West Bromwich Central Hotel
2.0 km away
Premier Inn West Bromwich Hotel
Premier Inn West Bromwich Hotel
#1 of 5 in West Bromwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Premier Inn Birmingham Oldbury (M5, Jct2) Hotel
3.0 km away
Great Barr Hotel
Great Barr Hotel
#88 of 118 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare & Five Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare & Five Hounds Hotel

Property: The Hare & Five Hounds Hotel
Address: 58-60 Seagar Street, West Bromwich B71 4AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > West Bromwich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in West Bromwich
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,018 - ₹ 4,925
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hare & Five Hounds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Hare & Five Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hare & Five Hounds Hotel West Bromwich, West Midlands, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing