We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hare & Five Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Barr Hotel(Birmingham)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
38
36
15
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
36
15
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspreservesvisiting friendsbed linenlovely hoteltea coffee making facilitiespowerful showerfree wifibargain pricetowel railwest midlandsample parkingcar parktoiletriestvensuitecleanlinesscomfort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights over the New Year weekend for £78, room only.
The room and bathroom were both spacious and clean. Although the beds did not get made/coffee topped up - I assume this was because of it being a New Years day.
We were in room 11, right over the restaurant and found it quite noisy with the music not being turned off until 1am, but this did not bother us as we were going to bed at that time anyway.
All the staff were friendly and helpful and I would recommend The Hare & Five Hounds if you are looking for somewhere close to the West Bromwich football ground/town centre which is within walking distance. Only 20 minutes to the Merry Hill Shopping centre by car too!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wantage71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed for one night on a Friday on the way back home from Cheltenham racecourse. The room was only £29.00 from laterooms.com so was an absolute bargain. room was clean and comfortable if not a touch on the small side and could have definitely done with a bedside lamp to make it a bit cosier. Curtains etc looked fairly new though. We checked in no problem with the restaurant manager as it was early evening. Luckily we had pre booked an evening meal in their restaurant as it was busy with Christmas parties. Didn't opt for breakfast but the staff when checking out were very friendly and pointed us in the right direction of the motorway - it had been dark when we arrived so God and good neighbours helped us find it! The food is amazing and I would stay a more upmarket Italian fare with more seafood and meat dishes than pizza/pasta. They had live music going -possibly just for party night? But this was turned down at midnight. If we hadn't had such a long day we would have been down there partying with them!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PK2Cramlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Booked to stay here on 24th & 25th November to visit family in West Midlands and do some shopping. The hotel is located 5 minutes from junction1 of the M5. The location is fairly suburban on a cut through road to West Bromwich town centre - not that you'll hear much noise.
On arrival the check in with the owner was quick and efficient and there was a huge well lit car park to the rear.

On entering the room it was a little chilly, but soon resolved by turning the raidiator up a notch. We were in the family room - consisted of a double and single bed. The room was a nice size with 2 windows. The decor was neutral/ white with a splash of colour in the form of some very good quality and very tasteful soft furnishings. The beds were comfortable and the quality fo the pillows and bed linen very good. There were plenty of coffee and tea and even biscuits!
The bathroom mirrored the same quality of the bed room and the towels were white and fluffy. The shower was great and the toiletries a really nice touch. The whole room was immaculate.
Breakfast was a continental affair - However this was far better than I had expected. Hot drinks, juice, cereals, toast (the bread is top notch and tastes great), fruit, yoghurts and even cheese, hams and boiled eggs! The service was great and the ladies serving us were extremely helpful.

The restarant is Italian - However we ate in the restaurant on Sunday and took advantage of the traditional Sunday Roast menu. This was really nice and offered a good choice, well cooked and flavoursome. My only regret is not trying the restaurant on Saturday and having the full italian experience.

Great!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

needed a couple of days time out from stress and we found it. the bed was like sleeping on feathers with some1 holding ya head as you slept... not too soft or to hard and it was massive. nice and quiet room was comfortable and no stress needed to work all the gadgets.. if there was 1 thing ok 2 things i would change it would be that we needed a shelf in the bathroom and a lamp on the table. but nothing that got us to stressed.. all in all a lovely clean room with staff that were polite.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladyjane68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Great hotel but customer service VERY VERY POOR, no telephone manner whats so ever.. when i rang this hotel to make a booking they just said hello i had to ask if this was The Hare & Five Hounds Hotel, also found staff very some timeish one day they would speak then another day would totally ignore you as if you wasn't there...and as for the manager/owner very rude and ignorant. NEEDS MORE TRAINING ON NOW TO SPEAK TO CUSTOMERS PROPERLY.. But other than these few faults its a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank millie035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews