We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Instant relaxation in a beautiful location for...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Smithy

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Smithy is completely self-contained, sharing only a driveway with the owners property Lounge area leads on to the private, secure garden. The woodburner (logs supplied) is very inviting
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
The Old Smithy is completely self-contained, sharing only a driveway with the owners property
Lounge area leads on to the private, secure garden. The woodburner (logs supplied) is very inviting
We welcome our guests with milk, wine and home made cake! Also basics like teabags, loo rolls etc
There are loads of CDs and DVDs if you fancy a night in, with a 40' TV and surround sound...
The master bedroom with king-size bed and en-suite shower room
Twin bedroom with original beam and exposed stonework
The secluded garden catches the sun all morning and into the early afternoon
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Southam, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Adam S
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Instant relaxation in a beautiful location for walking”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

My wife, father and I stayed last weekend for three nights. What a fantastic time we had.

I'd had contact from the owner Martin prior to arrival giving very precise directions which were very much needed. This just shows his attention to detail and how he considered everything to make your stay as relaxing and stress free as possible.

On arrival we had a welcome note along with a complimentary bottle of wine, milk and a lovely cake left for us in the kitchen, which was made by his daughter who runs a small cake business. The fire was set up ready to go which was nice as it was a cold weekend. Martin came and spoke to us and showed my wife around the cottage highlighting relevant points such as the heating etc. He was very friendly and approachable and it was clear if we needed anything it would be sorted.

The photos of the cottage don't do it justice. It's spacious and has everything you need. All the appliances were top quality including a coffee maker with the pods provided. Every detail was catered for.

Overall this is a fantastic cottage run by fantastic owners and we can't wait to go back. We will certainly be booking again very soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary D
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“England at its best”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I wanted to stay in a small typical English village my wife wanted to book something more central and a hotel we are both so glad that this was the one argument I have won in 31years of marriage. We stayed with our grown up daughter Michelle and our beloved 10year old chocolate Labrador Flake We loved every minute of our stay at the old smithy Martin and Heather are wonderful genuine people who made us feel so welcome. Sorry Heather for getting you out of your bath on our arrival ! The accommodation was homely and comfortable with nothing left to chance even plasters in the drawer when Linda cut her finger. The outside was lovely and a great sun trap in the late afternoons as we were blessed with glorious sunshine all week. The pub next door did some very good meal deals steak night and burger night and had a happy hour which I made use of while Linda and Michelle rested up after our travels. The pub also welcomed our lab in side as we dined only complaint was the service was very very slow . Plenty to explore we travelled over 400 miles taking in the wonderful sights of the Cotswolds Oxford Stratford upon Avon and Leamington spa. We were genuinely very sad to leave the old Smithy Martin and Heather behind. It's a week of wonderful memories we take with us. If we are ever back in the area we would not hesitate in booking the Old Smithy again and would highly recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the friendliness of the owners Martin and heather
Liked least: Nothing to not like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Bri...
Tillicoultry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The pictures do not do it justice”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Far beyond our expectations, despite the weather we had a brilliant time, close to all we could need, everything in the cottage that we could need, warm, extremely comfortable Martin & his wife have done everything they could to make our stay perfect. The enclosed garden was ideal for the dogs and the local walks despite the soggy conditions. We hope to be back under better weather conditions. And by the way we are very choosy this was probably the best cottage we have used

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The lack of Mobile phone connection ( May be a plus for some & not the owners fault)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy J
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A snug retreat from a wet week”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

The Old Smithy was lovely and warm, and a great place for post-Christmas relaxation. The weather was ok some days, but the comfy sofas and excellent DVD and games collections meant there was plenty to keep us entertained when the wind and rain detered us from going outside.

The food at the pub next door was great - though we were disappointed to find that they weren't serving food on several of the days we were there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A great place to unwind and relax
Liked least: With the pub next door not doing food on several days, it was quite a drive to the next place offering a meal out
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham R
Uddevalla, Sweden
1 review
“England at it's best.”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

A very comfortable and cosy cottage, where we were made very welcome and given all the help and advice necessary. Martins advice to try the Long Itchington Diner for breakfast on our first day was perfect. we were not hungry again until the evening, which gave us plenty of time to explore and stock up the larder.
Prior Marsden, where "The Old Smithy" is situated, shows the best of England and with "The Holly Bush" pub just round the corner, things couldn't be better. Even my mother (85yrs, with walking frame on wheels) was impressed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high ceilings that gave a feeling of space.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing