We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staff, great location”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Britannia Guest House
Ranked #11 of 25 South Shields B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

This was my 3rd year going to Newcastle area for the Magic Weekend for the rugby, had to deviate from where we usually go as it was booked up. Found The Britannia Guest House on Booking.com (don't book through them) and off we went. The owner met us there as advised she would and was lovely, the building is Victorian as is most of the decor. The room we had was small but fit a double bed, chair and TV with a bit of room to walk about. The bathroom was basic but did its job, I don't know if it was because we were on the top floor or if it was if everyone else had a shower before we did, the water was ice cold. Breakfast was fabulous and the staff the best I've encountered staying in hotels. I would stay here again based on location and the staff, wouldn't book through booking.com though as they take a payment from your card and hold it for days!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Colljack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2016

We stayed here as a family of 4 in one of the family rooms. The room was very clean and spacious enough to easily accommodate 2 single beds, one double bed , a sofa , fridge, t.v . a wardrobe and bedside tables. The ensuite bathroom had a lovely shower.
The full English breakfast was expertly cooked , very tasty and coffee was delicious.
Staff were extremely friendly, professional and welcoming.
On the down side it is not easy to get in if no one is there when you arrive so try and make firm arrangements for that before-hand.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at this superb little bed and breakfast. Location was excellent. Rooms were a decent size with good beds and tastefully decorated and the staff could not have been more welcoming or helpful. Breakfast was varied and very filling. Will certainly be staying here again.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FussyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

A relatively large guest house close to Ocean Road. All up hill but not to bad.
The property is spotless but a little old fashioned . But a very reasonable price.

Breakfasts are excellent and cooked to order. Plenty of choice.

The owner and staff are lovely and extremely helpful.

Would definitely stay there again and recommend .

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank SouthamptonBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at The Britannia Guest House. Very comfortable and clean establishment and made to feel very welcome. Rooms tastefully decorated and close to the amenities- only 10mins from the beach. Breakfast was perfectly cooked. Would definitely stay there again

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Clappers1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Shields hotels
0.5 km away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
751 reviews
0.6 km away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
439 reviews
3.5 km away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Athol House
Athol House
#4 of 5 in South Shields
67 reviews
1.8 km away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#5 of 5 in South Shields
187 reviews
0 km away
Kingsmere Guest House
Kingsmere Guest House
#5 of 25 in South Shields
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Guest House

Address: 56 Julian Avenue, South Shields NE33 2EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in South Shields
Price Range: ₹ 5,032 - ₹ 7,006 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Britannia Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Britannia Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing