We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Britannia Guest House
Ranked #11 of 25 South Shields B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Nice, friendly B&B. Had a twin room but one of the beds was right in front of the radiator. The room was warm as the heater was turned right up but if I had to share then I would have felt sorry for the poor soul in that bed! There was two huge wingback chairs in the room which meant there was no space for a table and as I was in Shields for a course which involved homework, I found that quite awkward.

The shower pressure wasn't great and the water had a very strong chlorine smell but that is an issue that is outwith their control.

Overall, breakfast was good, room was clean and the hosts were very welcoming.

Room Tip: Room 11 has no table, just a small shelf under a large mirror.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eilidh_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

We booked room well in advance because it was pet friendly,on arrival we were greeted by owner Gill who told us they no longer took pets but allowed us to stay not what we were expecting,if she had informed us beforehand we would have gone elsewhere.The shower only worked when you turned temperature down no hot showers.Toilet roll holder was on wall behind you had to be double jointed to reach.No chain on plug for hand basin.Furniture in room was old and dreary,apart from TV+Kettle.Small fridge was on floor you had to go on hands and knees to access.To use kettle you had to unplug fridge.We left evening before our departure it was raining we got all our cases etc down to door and opened both doors for quick exit to car which was open and Gill`s daughter shouted for us to shut door as we were letting heat out instead of offering us some assistance, heating off 9am till 5pm.

Room Tip: This is rated 4* but we have been in better 2* guest houses,don`t be fooled by ratings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Have stayed twice when visiting family in the area. Great place to stay with friendly efficient hosts. Great sized family room. Tasty cooked breakfast. Will definitely continue to stay here when in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed at the Brittania for two nights with relatives and we found this accommodation 'second to none'. The room was spacious, exceptionally well furnished and extremely clean. You couldn't have wished for a better breakfast with quantity as well as quality served by friendly staff. We will stay at the Briattania again and would highly remcommend it to friends and other members of our family. Thanks for a lovely and welcoming stay.
The Hancocks Family.

Room Tip: The exectutive rooms were lovely, spacious and had a realy large bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed here whilst visiting friends in the area. Could not fault anything. The room was lovely, the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have slept in in a long time, the breakfast was well cooked and very tasty and the friendliness and service were excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRENE290152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Shields hotels
0.5 km away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
752 reviews
0.6 km away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
440 reviews
3.5 km away
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Athol House
Athol House
#4 of 5 in South Shields
67 reviews
1.8 km away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#5 of 5 in South Shields
187 reviews
1.2 km away
Mill Dam Guest House
Mill Dam Guest House
#23 of 25 in South Shields
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Guest House

Address: 56 Julian Avenue, South Shields NE33 2EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in South Shields
Price Range: ₹ 4,783 - ₹ 7,143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Britannia Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Britannia Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing