We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
33
15
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
15
0
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We booked room well in advance because it was pet friendly,on arrival we were greeted by owner Gill who told us they no longer took pets but allowed us to stay not what we were expecting,if she had informed us beforehand we would have gone elsewhere.The shower only worked when you turned temperature down no hot showers.Toilet roll holder was on wall behind you had to be double jointed to reach.No chain on plug for hand basin.Furniture in room was old and dreary,apart from TV+Kettle.Small fridge was on floor you had to go on hands and knees to access.To use kettle you had to unplug fridge.We left evening before our departure it was raining we got all our cases etc down to door and opened both doors for quick exit to car which was open and Gill`s daughter shouted for us to shut door as we were letting heat out instead of offering us some assistance, heating off 9am till 5pm.

Room Tip: This is rated 4* but we have been in better 2* guest houses,don`t be fooled by ratings.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Have stayed twice when visiting family in the area. Great place to stay with friendly efficient hosts. Great sized family room. Tasty cooked breakfast. Will definitely continue to stay here when in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed at the Brittania for two nights with relatives and we found this accommodation 'second to none'. The room was spacious, exceptionally well furnished and extremely clean. You couldn't have wished for a better breakfast with quantity as well as quality served by friendly staff. We will stay at the Briattania again and would highly remcommend it to friends and other members of our family. Thanks for a lovely and welcoming stay.
The Hancocks Family.

Room Tip: The exectutive rooms were lovely, spacious and had a realy large bed.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed here whilst visiting friends in the area. Could not fault anything. The room was lovely, the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have slept in in a long time, the breakfast was well cooked and very tasty and the friendliness and service were excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRENE290152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Thanks to Gill and Chris for making our break very pleasant and relaxing. Great breakfast, a small but very adequate, comfortable room and in a quiet location, within easy reach of both the centre and also the sea front, parks and amusements. Try the Sun Dial pub for value for money meals and a pint.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews