We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great family pub

I visited in September 2016 with my wife and toddler. There is plenty of outside seating and a... read more

Reviewed 25 September 2016
David L
,
Midlands
via mobile
1st visit for a few years!

Visited with a friend on a Friday evening after 8. We had a shared platter of pate, dried meat etc... read more

Reviewed 10 September 2016
HDuff123
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 18 reviews
  
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
6
4
4
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
4
4
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Met friends here for Pre Christmas drinks here last week and was really impressed!
This is local to me but for some reason I had not visited before. My friends who had said that it was now much larger following recent refurbishment, but it retained its character well.

Food is (apparently) good, and there was an inclusive and accepting crowd.

Will be back.

Thank johnnykipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
32springg, General Manager at The Spring Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Hi Johnny,
Thank you for your 5 star review! We're really pleased that you enjoyed your time here over the festive period. We focus on delivering fresh, seasonal, quality food. So we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please make yourselves known the next time you come in, as I really enjoy getting to meet new locals from the area!
Kind regards, Martin (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

What a hidden gem, just a short walk from Kingston town centre - this pub has everything. Beautiful decor , friendly bar staff and waiters , great food and an excellent selection of drinks! I ordered the seabass which was cooked to perfection accompanied by a delightful g&t. The staff were so good at checking if everything was ok with our meal and never left us for too long. I cannot wait to come back here again and show more of my friends what a lovely pub this is.

Thank BethFenwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Disappointing family Sunday lunch. Whilst environment and drinks are great, the food is very poor compared to previous visits a year ago. Roast beef was too finely sliced and lost in the gravy. It was also very fatty without much meat.
Rest of family also disappointed with roast beef/chicken dishes.

Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

A group of us went for dinner and everything seems to have taken a nose dive. I recommend here and was really embarrassed at how the meal turned out. The food was very poor, fish in soggy batter, vegetables not 'defrosted'/cold. One burger as almost completely raw. The deserts was bad too. I'm not sure how you burn the life out of a crumble and make lumpy cold custard...Such a great shame, they used to present fantastic food, freshly cooked (not frozen burger patties) it was delicious. I raved about this pub for a long while after it had it's reopening. I won't go again as this is the 3rd time I've had really bad food. It's a good pub for a quiz and a drink but don't go to eat.

1  Thank Lempin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

I visited in September 2016 with my wife and toddler.

There is plenty of outside seating and a slide/climbing frame for kids.

The service is friendly and the food and drink good.

Only complaint is that we ordered 3 meals but only 2 sets of cutlery were brought out. And the sausage rolls were cold. And the staff sit in the passageway to the beer garden, smoking. But these are small things.

Recommended.

Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews