We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paul”
Review of The Spring Grove

The Spring Grove
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Your favourite local at 13 Bloomfield Road has always been the heart of the Community in this lovely area of Kingston Upon Thames. Young's bought The Spring Grove in 1896 and we still proudly serve craft and cask-conditioned ales, world class wines (many served by the glass) and refreshing long drinks. Our menus celebrate the best of fresh, seasonal, British produce, with food prepared daily by our team of skilled Chefs.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Disappointing family Sunday lunch. Whilst environment and drinks are great, the food is very poor compared to previous visits a year ago. Roast beef was too finely sliced and lost in the gravy. It was also very fatty without much meat.
Rest of family also disappointed with roast beef/chicken dishes.

Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

6 - 10 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2017

A group of us went for dinner and everything seems to have taken a nose dive. I recommend here and was really embarrassed at how the meal turned out. The food was very poor, fish in soggy batter, vegetables not 'defrosted'/cold. One burger as almost completely raw. The deserts was bad too. I'm not sure how you burn the life out of a crumble and make lumpy cold custard...Such a great shame, they used to present fantastic food, freshly cooked (not frozen burger patties) it was delicious. I raved about this pub for a long while after it had it's reopening. I won't go again as this is the 3rd time I've had really bad food. It's a good pub for a quiz and a drink but don't go to eat.

1  Thank Lempin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

I visited in September 2016 with my wife and toddler.

There is plenty of outside seating and a slide/climbing frame for kids.

The service is friendly and the food and drink good.

Only complaint is that we ordered 3 meals but only 2 sets of cutlery were brought out. And the sausage rolls were cold. And the staff sit in the passageway to the beer garden, smoking. But these are small things.

Recommended.

Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Visited with a friend on a Friday evening after 8. We had a shared platter of pate, dried meat etc which was very nice. We had a bottle of SB, not chilled enough, however after a while in the ice bucket it improved. (Initially we had to add ice to chill Arrg!! A great pub for families not a place for a quiet meal and conversation.

Thank HDuff123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Following its extensive alterations about 18 months ago this pub was very good. However, the service has now gone very downhill and the food quality has also deteriorated - now overall 5.5/10.
Regretfully, the previous clientele - have not gone elsewhere and what is in many ways a very attractive dining pub is ruined by loud and vulgar group of workmen in the bar area. I know friends who have stopped using the pub because of these types.

1  Thank Mitchell1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Spring Grove also viewed

Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
 

Been to The Spring Grove? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing