We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone downhill”
Review of The Spring Grove

The Spring Grove
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Your favourite local at 13 Bloomfield Road has always been the heart of the Community in this lovely area of Kingston Upon Thames. Young's bought The Spring Grove in 1896 and we still proudly serve craft and cask-conditioned ales, world class wines (many served by the glass) and refreshing long drinks. Our menus celebrate the best of fresh, seasonal, British produce, with food prepared daily by our team of skilled Chefs.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Following its extensive alterations about 18 months ago this pub was very good. However, the service has now gone very downhill and the food quality has also deteriorated - now overall 5.5/10.
Regretfully, the previous clientele - have not gone elsewhere and what is in many ways a very attractive dining pub is ruined by loud and vulgar group of workmen in the bar area. I know friends who have stopped using the pub because of these types.

1  Thank Mitchell1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

10 - 14 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

Nice local pub that caters for families, friends and couples. Pretty relaxed atmosphere, and the food is good.

Much better decor since its refurbishment. I wouldn't recommend for a romantic or special place to go, but it's a pub so wouldn't be surprising!

Happy to go when in the mood for a pub lunch.

Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016

We had been there for a drink once with the son, daughter-in-law and grandsons - they live nearby and go there regularly. It is a fantastic pub with quality decor and quirky stuff everywhere. We went there yesterday and ordered food. All did not go strictly according to plan and was not 100% satisfactory, including the amount of time we had to wait. HOWEVER: things do go wrong and people make mistakes - it is how they are rectified that is important. We had the best customer service I have known anywhere and, thus, are going to make a return to The Spring Grove a priority when we get back from holiday. It is a really nice pub with a great choice of beer and wine and the staff are fantastic. We coincidentally met friends who had also eaten there the same afternoon and their meal went flawlessly, so we were clearly just a little unlucky. But we are sure all will be well next time. Well done the manager - as I said above, excellent customer service. Thank you all very much.

Thank Bob93v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2016 via mobile

Since the refurbishment I visited The Spring Grove in August 2015, for an afternoon drink. It was enough to book an evening visit with friends later in the year for food and drink. A further visit in January 2016 with two young teenagers (& the dog) reaffirmed this is now a family favourite.

Dogs allowed, always a nice touch considering today's barmy Health & Safety regulations. Dog biscuits available in a jar on the counter.

Staff have always been attentive, knowledgeable of food menu and deserve a tip for their efforts.

Food is excellent. Our compliments to the chefs. No complaints. The price is reasonable.

Drink costs, slightly on the high side. But if you are treated well, service & food quality is of a high standard then the extra cost in drink prices is acceptable.

Decor, the Spring Grove has been done out nicely. The lighting, which many pubs get wrong, is perfect. Sets the mood, well.

To conclude, a good pub, whether you want just a drink or a meal.

Thank 123Tiger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2016

The makeover has actually improved this venue, whether you are dining or just socialising. Our previous 'local' lost character and focus after a refurbishment so re-discovering the lively, friendly atmosphere at the 'Spring' was a big win.

Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Spring Grove also viewed

Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 

Been to The Spring Grove? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing