We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great family pub

I visited in September 2016 with my wife and toddler. There is plenty of outside seating and a... read more

Reviewed 25 September 2016
David L
,
Midlands
via mobile
1st visit for a few years!

Visited with a friend on a Friday evening after 8. We had a shared platter of pate, dried meat etc... read more

Reviewed 10 September 2016
HDuff123
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 18 reviews
  
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
6
4
4
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
4
4
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

Nice local pub that caters for families, friends and couples. Pretty relaxed atmosphere, and the food is good.

Much better decor since its refurbishment. I wouldn't recommend for a romantic or special place to go, but it's a pub so wouldn't be surprising!

Happy to go when in the mood for a pub lunch.

Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016

We had been there for a drink once with the son, daughter-in-law and grandsons - they live nearby and go there regularly. It is a fantastic pub with quality decor and quirky stuff everywhere. We went there yesterday and ordered food. All did not go strictly according to plan and was not 100% satisfactory, including the amount of time we had to wait. HOWEVER: things do go wrong and people make mistakes - it is how they are rectified that is important. We had the best customer service I have known anywhere and, thus, are going to make a return to The Spring Grove a priority when we get back from holiday. It is a really nice pub with a great choice of beer and wine and the staff are fantastic. We coincidentally met friends who had also eaten there the same afternoon and their meal went flawlessly, so we were clearly just a little unlucky. But we are sure all will be well next time. Well done the manager - as I said above, excellent customer service. Thank you all very much.

Thank Bob93v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2016 via mobile

Since the refurbishment I visited The Spring Grove in August 2015, for an afternoon drink. It was enough to book an evening visit with friends later in the year for food and drink. A further visit in January 2016 with two young teenagers (& the dog) reaffirmed this is now a family favourite.

Dogs allowed, always a nice touch considering today's barmy Health & Safety regulations. Dog biscuits available in a jar on the counter.

Staff have always been attentive, knowledgeable of food menu and deserve a tip for their efforts.

Food is excellent. Our compliments to the chefs. No complaints. The price is reasonable.

Drink costs, slightly on the high side. But if you are treated well, service & food quality is of a high standard then the extra cost in drink prices is acceptable.

Decor, the Spring Grove has been done out nicely. The lighting, which many pubs get wrong, is perfect. Sets the mood, well.

To conclude, a good pub, whether you want just a drink or a meal.

Thank 123Tiger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016

The makeover has actually improved this venue, whether you are dining or just socialising. Our previous 'local' lost character and focus after a refurbishment so re-discovering the lively, friendly atmosphere at the 'Spring' was a big win.

Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2015

I love this pub and the food is consistently fantastic. The outdoor space is great with a covered heated awning, tables and play area for children, they also provide blankets, should you need them. The restaurant manager is friendly and attentive. Though bar staff are a mixed bag and drinks rather pricey. I think many pubs in the area should take note of how this pub looks and is run. They often have promotions but they're not pushy about them, they're things you'd want to be involved in. Their pub quiz when we went was a bit iffy but it was new, so hopefully it's been honed by now. IS also dog friendly. One of, if not the best pub in the area.

Thank Lempin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews