We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place”
Review of Chalk Lane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chalk Lane Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Epsom
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Stayed here as we were going to Epsom Night races.

Hotel in a quiet location - the rooms were very comfortable and spacious. Staff were very friendly and helpful - just a very enjoyable experience all round and a great location for the racecourse.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jg34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    48
    17
    11
    2
See reviews for
23
36
4
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

I had my wedding reception at the Chalk Lane Hotel at the end of May. This hotel is charming and quaint with some lovely furnishings . From entering reception to checking out, every single member of staff were complete professionals, nothing was too much for them. I was able to see a couple of the bedrooms as family and friends also stayed, each room was indvidually decorated in a pretty and attractive style and all were very clean and comfortable. Although the banqueting team had to cater for a large amount of wedding guests, the food was very delicious, mouthwatering and beautifully presented. The reception canapes and evening buffett were of the same quality. All of the staff made me, as the bride, feel very special. There was lots of choice for breakfast and it was to a high standard. We will definatley be coming back to celebrate each wedding anniversary. THANK YOU to Mr and Mrs McGregor along with all the staff for making our wedding reception and stay at your hotel so special.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CazzaO1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights as my husband had work in nearby Leatherhead. It is a short walk from the Epsom train station and there are also taxis available. You can also hire a taxi from the hotel to take you anywhere. The restaurant serves dinner and the food is excellent, as is the service. The rooms are clean, surprisingly spacious, and well maintained.
The owner/manager Dominique, is very welcoming and helpful. The morning breakfast was delicious. Will definitely stay here again if we visit Surrey!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nimtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I know it may be concluded that one's disposition towards a particular hotel may be tempered by other circumstances. So it is with this declared that I write this review.The first week of April 2011 arrived with a Mediterranean heatwave that lasted all month. Several forrays into Epsom to dine and have some drinks were equally a success. So our arrival at Chalk Lane was on the back of good mood setting experiences.
So we ensconced ourselves in the comfortable elegance of the period building that houses Chalk Lane Hotel. In almost a rural rather than a suburban setting, along a narrow road, the building is deceptive in that it looks compact at first glance. The experience leads me to replace that word with 'intimate' even though the buildings that actually comprise the Hotel, Restaurant and Function Rooms are significant and discreetly conjoined so avoiding a disproportionate scale , if one can actually say that about an area populated with homes of significant vintage and size. OK, so I hope that paints the picture that the front only photograph on this page does not suggest.
There is a quirky marriage of Victorian elegance in the front older buildings and an almost Art Deco meets Italianate minimalist style in the function area of the Hotel. Curiously though it works. Cream walls, terrazzo and up lighting rather than pictures and mirrors marry well with the period decorated style of the rest of the building.
If you are still with me after that long scene set I will address the Hotel and Restaurant . Our room was generously proportioned, plenty of bright light and fitted with a king sized bed ! It was comfortable and well appointed and worthy of the building. The introduction to the culinary standard of the restaurant began with breakfast. It was excellent. Now for me the best breakfast experience in the world was Dromoland Castle in Ireland but when you do simple things well as Chalk Lane did it in itself is a standard setter.
The Restaurant is worthy of the accolades that decorate the walls. We had venison with a red currant jus that must have taken the chef hours to reduce so intensely satisfying was the flavour. I could expound on the other elements of our food but I think the editor has had enough of me by now, but you can take it that is was good. Like all good Hotels the price is for you to decide relative to your budget but if you like Good Food in a Period Hotel then this is up there with the good ones

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SirNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We enjoyed our stay here in last November and we've booked again for this November. The choice of hotels in Epsom is limited and we wanted something central and this hotel fits the bill. We both enjoyed our breakfast, which was cooked to order. The staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chopalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epsom
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs
1.6 km away
Travelodge Epsom Central
3.6 km away
Premier Inn Epsom South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Chessington Safari Hotel
Chessington Safari Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chessington
1,833 reviews
6.8 km away
Woodlands Park Hotel
Woodlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cobham
672 reviews
7.1 km away
The Running Horses
The Running Horses
#1 of 1 in Mickleham
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalk Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalk Lane Hotel

Property: Chalk Lane Hotel
Address: Chalk Lane, Epsom KT18 7BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Epsom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Epsom
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,394 - ₹ 10,971
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalk Lane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chalk Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalk Lane Epsom
Chalk Lane Hotel Epsom, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing