We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a load of rubbish ”
Review of Amera Rani

Amera Rani
Ranked #37 of 537 Restaurants in Croydon
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

Went here for a friend's 50th birthday and what a load of rubbish, charged him for 30 people although only 25 turned, didn't get to chose what we wanted although they charged my friend £12.95 per head.

The starter was cold and so small it was ment to go around 4 per table but compared to other restaurants would of Fed only one.

The mains were a joke they brought out 3 small dishes with a mild a medium and a hot once again each dish had about 4 bits of meat in what a joke.

When they brought out the naan bread it was one cut into four pieces what a joke, not one each.

Then we find out that for the £12.95 per head we didn't even get a pudding they wanted to charge us more for that.

Then to top it all they charged £52 extra for poopadoms.

Total bill including drink was £756.80 What a joke came home and had dinner as was starving.

Will never use this place again would not recommend to my worst enemy.

There are plenty more places to have a curry in croydon trust me don't use this one.

2  Thank blingblingboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

Using my tastecard we had a lamb biriyani and lab rogan josh with pweshari naan. They brought out a sauce for the biriyani but I later found out it was an extra cost!
Also I got charged for tap water!
But that aside we had a lovely meal. It arrived hot and the lamb just melted in your mouth. Brilliant.

2  Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmeraRani, Manager at Amera Rani, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Hi Carol

Thank you for your review.

Glad to hear you enjoyed your meal. To reassure you we do not charge for the vegetable curry which compliments all our biriyani dishes and we certainly do not charge for tap water.

If you could get in contact with us, we would be happy to discuss in order to ensure you were not charged incorrectly.

Many Thanks

Aziz
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

First came here after recommendation and with the tasrecard which gives 50% off! Have been here three times, twice with partner and baby and once with work party. The food is always first class and the staff are polite and efficient. There are lots of veggie options and the menu has detailed info for any allergies you may have ( useful for us as baby can't have milk).
I will return again soon and recommend you give it a try if you fancy a curry and your in the area.

3  Thank jon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmeraRani, Manager at Amera Rani, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you, Jon for your review.

Hope to see you again.

Best Regards

Aziz
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

I took some collages from work here and for many it was their first time . Everyone agreed that the food was very very tasty and the service very good . Good Value for money too .

3  Thank sheena h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmeraRani, Manager at Amera Rani, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Hi Sheena

Thank you for your review. Hope to have you dine with us again.

Many thanks

Aziz
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

My girlfriend and I visited on a Friday night at 7.30pm and the restaurant was already quite busy, mainly due to a large party. However this party had just been served their main so we didn’t think it would affect our night. However it became clear quite quickly the staff were struggling to manage the customers in the restaurant as well as the calls coming through for orders. Our drinks got served quite quickly but it took over half an hour to take our food order (after having to ask for it to be taken).

Our onion bhaji starter came out about half an hour after giving our order - acceptable and it was nice and good quality. However it took another hour after finishing our bhaji for the mains to be served - we ordered one rice, one naan and two chicken dishes (shashlik and jalfrezi), not a big order. Interestingly, we got served our main a good half an hour after a table of four who arrived at the same time we gave our order. The food itself was really good, albeit portions were on the smaller side. But it ruins the whole experience if you arrive at 7.30 and you don’t get your main until 9.30!

I was disappointed not to receive an apology for the slow service, it’s not like it wasn’t obvious! My recommendation to Amera Rani is to make sure there is enough staff, both front of house and in the kitchen, to cater to demand on busier nights. Such a shame because the food is nicer than your average Indian. I don’t think we will be visiting again despite being local to the area.

2  Thank bfernando88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amera Rani also viewed

Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 
Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 

Been to Amera Rani? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing