We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont fall for it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camden Place Apartments
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We booked this apartment for 5 people (3 adults and 2 children) as it had parking included in the proce, which is unusual around London. We were on route to the destination when we had a call from the agent stating that the owner had called to say there was a problem with the accomodation (never found out what) and that we had been relocated to a four bedroom house. We had to accept the accomodation as we had 2 tired out children. Added an extra hour to our journey and we were unable to access the property on arrival as it was being cleaned. All looked ok at first glance but in fact the place was shoddy!!! the carpets were stained, the wall marked and damp, in fact the whole place was falling apart and was filthy. I have now just read another review and the same thing happened to someone else, think it is all a big con!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lolita1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2011

Had a huge problem at first. Booked this place through booking.com and it was originally listed as free cancellation. When I cancelled they would NOT refund my money and insisted it would be kept as a credit. I had proof that their policy had not originally stated that, but booking.com was completely UNhelpful in getting this issue resolved. We then ended up being able to go so we decided to use our "credit".

Croydon is a great place to stay as its quite near the centre of London (ten minute train ride from East Croydon Station to Victoria Station).

Now on to the hotel:
The location is SUPERB. A relatively quiet street across from Army Barracks. There is a pub right down the block. East Croydon Train station is a five minute walk and there is a tourist centre right before the station (wonderful!). Whitgift shopping mall is also a 5-10 minute walk and while underwhelming from the outside, it was beautiful on the inside and had all sorts of shops including a Sainsbury's, Marks and Spencer, Next, etc.

Free parking spots in front of the apartments a huge plus!

The system for getting in was a bit unusual but we managed. However, the management told us the wrong apartment number. So at 4 am we trudged to the top floor only to wake up the people already in the apartment (My apologies!). We finally kept trying doors and found our apartment right on the first floor. The outside door leaves quite a bit to be desired in regards to security.

The apartment itself was very clean and nicely decorated. The only issue we had is that the refrigerator seemed to be an afterthought and didn't quite fit in the space allotted so it leaned to the left and would move every time it was opened, rather like a table with a dodgy leg. The TV also wasn't working but we ran into the handyman and he had it fixed right away (Thank you!).

The only other things I would recommend besides new, more secure doors and locks is a new coat of paint as some of the walls were quite scuffed. A landline telephone would also be nice as some of the take out food places didn't want to deliver to us as we only had German mobiles with us.

If you're looking for a good solid budget place I would definitely recommend it. We stayed in the one bedroom and it was perfect for my husband and me as well as our three children (there's a good sofa bed in the living room). We paid 85GBP or approximately 125 USD a night and honestly I haven't seen anything cheaper in London besides hostels. You'll be hard pressed to find something this good quality for this price in my opinion.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Siastar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank valentinawoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polatere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tessa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.5 km away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
0.4 km away
Premier Inn London Croydon Town Centre Hotel
0.7 km away
easyHotel London Croydon
easyHotel London Croydon
#19 of 24 in Croydon
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hampton by Hilton London Croydon
0.9 km away
Croydon Park Hotel
Croydon Park Hotel
#8 of 24 in Croydon
1,197 reviews
0.6 km away
Travelodge Croydon Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Place Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Place Apartments

Address: 50 Sydenham Road, Croydon CR0 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Croydon
Price Range: ₹ 7,136 - ₹ 8,563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Camden Place Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartment offers modern and contemporary furnishings, fully equipped kitchens and separate bedroom. The apartment includes free wifi and lounge area with a leather sofa bed and TV. Guests can enjoy a modern kitchen fully fitted with amenities including a washing machine/dryer, oven with hob, microwave, toaster, kettle, crockery and cutlery. Apartment also features separate bathroom as well as comfortably furnished, separate bedroom that has a double bed. Towels and linen are provided for all beds including the sofabed. Guest can also make use of personal washing machine/dryer for all your laundry needs. The bathroom has a combined bath and shower. There is satellite TV and free wireless internet. To the rear, there is a beautiful garden and there is free parking in the premises.The location is very convenient for Central London by train and all the restaurants, shops and bars of the High street. The apartment is an 8 minutes walk from East Croydon train station. The station provides access to Central London and Gatwick Airport within 15minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Camden Place Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing