We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel of a Restaurant”
Review of Fushia

Fushia
Reserve with OpenTable
Fushia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 493 Restaurants in Croydon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 13 - US$ 26
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fushia is an Indian restaurant with a difference. We use fresh ingredients and individually make each delicious dish to own special recipes to provide the authentic Indian cuisine. We aim to provide you with a wonderful experience from the moment that you enter, so that you will want to come back again and again. Our friendly staff cannot do enough to help you. This hospitality is extend upstairs in our banqueting suite, where we can cater for larger private functions. CLOSED ON TUESDAY
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The food in this restaurant is utterly amazing, try the Fish Tikka (it has another name on the menu but they know it by this name too) and Chicken Methi no other Indian restaurant comes anywhere near matching the flavours, but pick any dish and the same will be true I regularly travel from Camberley to Croydon to visit Fushia and then have to get a large takeaway for family and friends as well as they say Indian food from any other restaurant has been ruined since they tasted the exquisite Fushia food. The staff are very friendly and attentive and the atmoshphere is relaxing. Perfect for an evening out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 66Janette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suhan S, Public Relations Manager at Fushia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for your kind words. You are one of our valued regulars and it always makes us feel special that you must pass hundreds of restaurants on your way from Camberley but always prefer to eat at Fushia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 127 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

As ever the food was excellent and the service superb. We have had many memorable meals at your restaurant. Thank you so much for a fantastic meal. We all thoroughly enjoyed everything and will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carmelita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suhan S, Public Relations Manager at Fushia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We are so happy that you had a good time. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Well the food was good but unfortunately the service was so bad...with not enough staff working and the owner being the stuffy old man who seems to think he's the only one who knows how to run a business it's amazing he still has one! I can only think that its because of his hit and miss food that he hangs onto it...sometimes it could be great but really sad that he gets his waiters to cook and serve the food when his chef has called in sick...I mean who does that (you have no back up plan apart from your waiter doing the cooking)!
The owners attitude is so bad and always seems to have an attacking message back in trip advisor...maybe you need to learn to take it constructively and actually try and make changes to better the business...it seems the complaints are always about service more than anything else which is such a shame. And before he has a comment I did pay for my dinner but I know others did walk out from nearby tables and I don't blame them...you can check this on your CCTV as you point out but amazingly I bet he never shows it if you ask for it to be played backed like I did...maybe let the new generation take over if you feel so strongly that people younger than you don't know what they're taking about (because they are the ones spending money now for a decent meal and POLITE service).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Advisor05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suhan S, Public Relations Manager at Fushia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You obviously liked the food but were unhappy with the service. Unfortunately, you have not specified why you were unhappy (other than disliking the owner). Please call Fushia on 02086808833 and ask to speak to me (Suhan) and I can try and address your concerns. We would welcome your feedback and a chance to show you how good Fushia usually is.

Fushia has grown and adapted over the years and you may be surprised to find that the majority of our customers love Fushia. We don't get everything right all of the time but we always strive to provide a good service.

With regards to our waiting staff, some of them have been with us for years and have been promoted from the kitchen and are very able cooks; you evidently enjoyed their food.

Unfortunately, sometimes we are short staffed and will allocate our resources to adapt as much as possible. We are a small business and when staff members are off sick at the last minute, it makes it harder for us to maintain our usual level of service. Our chefs have been specially trained to be able to cook our dishes, which is why they taste so good and do take a bit of time to make. There will only be handful of people in the country who would be able to stand in for our chefs without training, so using agency staff is not an option. This is the problem with having food of such high standards!

I genuinely hope that you do call Fushia. You were obviously unhappy with your last visit and we are in the business of making people happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I have had my birthday celebrations here twice . The good is exceptional and the service is second to none. The staff give you that extra bit of attention that makes you feel spoilt. The fact it's at the end if my road means I can really let my hair down and enjoy a good wine with my meal and walk home .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Parisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suhan S, Public Relations Manager at Fushia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

We are so happy that you enjoyed your party and look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I've been putting up with this place for a few yeas now as their food is pretty decent quality.

Tonight was probably the straw that broke the camels back.

We sat down and we asked to order straight away. We were offered the menu, I said no because we had eaten there many times before and we knew what we wanted. We asked two separate people that we wanted to order straight away. We were then offered then menu again and I then realised that menu surfing was a distraction because the kitchen was overloaded and busy.

Anyway, the waiter then went to another table to get their order and then went to the till and took another telephone order. By this time we had waited 15minutes to not even get a simple drink!?

SHORT sentence on how to run a restaurant:
Client comes in - you sit them and sell them drinks. Fast.
Then you offer the, nibbles (more selling) and get them whilst they chat away.
Then you get their starters.
Then you get them main courses.
When they finish, you offer desserts and if not still hungry you offer coffee or tea or small spirits.
You do use above quickly and with a simple smile - it's not rocket science.

Strange place as it seems it could be a fantastic restaurant but just is plain wrong and I have vowed NEVER to endure this service again, shame because the food is not that bad.

PS: Toilets are absolutely and completely unnecessarily freezing cold and the tiled walls inside the toilets are falling apart from the actual walls!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mr1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suhan S, Public Relations Manager at Fushia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

We were amazed by your review, as almost everything that you have said is a complete fabrication of the truth. It appears that you have lied intentionally.

When you entered with your wife and child, you were shown to your usual seat. You did not wish to order food or drinks, as you were waiting for your friend.

The owner then approached you and asked if you wished to order, which you replied that you were waiting for your friend. He offered you a menu which you declined, as you have been to Fushia before.

A third staff member approached you later and was talking and joking with you and your wife. She asked you if you wanted to order drinks, to which you replied that you were waiting for your friend.

The original staff member approached you later and asked if you wanted to order, to which you replied that you had already ordered. He assumed that you were not lying and took you at your word. At no point did you order anything.

A few minutes after this, you walked out. One of the staff members followed you out and asked if everything was okay, to which your wife replied that "you could not wait long" and left.

There were only 3 tables when you came about 8pm on a Wednesday, which was why we were not that busy and were able to give you very good service. You were there for a total of about 10 minutes, during which you were approached 4 times. We have this all on CCTV.

The reason why no drinks were served, was because you did not order any. The reason why no food was served, was because you did not order any. You were provided with very good, friendly service but there is obviously nothing that could possibly satisfy you.

The only thing that you have said that is true is that the food is very good quality. All you other claims are completely false.

P.S. The toilets have their own heater and none of the tiles are "falling apart".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fushia also viewed

Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 
Croydon, Greater London
 
Croydon, Greater London
 

Been to Fushia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing