We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (623)
Filter reviews
623 results
Traveller rating
150
192
156
65
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
192
156
65
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday lunch aston marina pool and sauna leisure facilities black pudding the ground floor afternoon tea friendly hotel breakfast was excellent four poster bed an evening meal a lovely stay alton towers town centre full english good nights sleep wedding
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 623 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

We visited this hotel for a family catch up and this was a central location before we went to Alton Towers the next day.

On arrival the hotel and grounds looked great, we parked up and then headed to the reception.

On arrival, we noticed a sign to say we are having a make over. Which there wasn’t any sign of any works happening. We headed over the the nightclub, sorry I mean reception. I had all these flashing lights which made the reception look very tacky. We asked to checked in, and the guy just looked at us as if we have disturb him from serving the internet.

We then paid for our room and went to our room, the room was nice and big but very dated.

The staff in the bar where friendly.

In the evening we tired to get to the bar and the lower ground was over taken by an external party, who thought that they owned to place along with a stuck up mayor. The staff didn’t what they cold for this party and forgot about the paying guests

The food is very overpriced for a 3 star, and if you plan on eating here be prepared to go out for another meal else where

We don’t be staying in this below standard hotel.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Disappointed when entering our room to find the bed was not made correctly... all the furniture had chips and knocks on them, there was also a coffee stain down the wall... the bedroom was shabby in appearance.. the bathroom on the other hand I cannot fault.. large bath, very modern and fresh appearance.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night here in mid October. This place is a good budget hotel, offering a good breakfast.

Our bedroom was clean and tidy. Unfortunately only four teabags, a few coffee sachets and some milk was left quite untidily for us to use. Instead, a wider range of fruit teas, herbal teas and coffees would have been good. Even though we had booked a ‘newly refurbished’ room, our bedroom window was old, wooden and could’ve done with a double-glazing upgrade as it was a little drafty and noisy at night.

Our bathroom was tidy. There was ample hand soap and body wash which is good. However, the bin was rather dirty and could’ve been cleaned more thoroughly.

Breakfast was good, with continental and cooked breakfasts available at self-serve tables. However, the small pots of jam on our tables were half used, which seemed a little unhygienic. As these jars of Tiptree jam are so small, it would be nice for staff to replace them when setting the table, so that guests can enjoy a full pot of jam rather than a half-used one!

There is generally ample parking, however we struggled to find a space at around 10pm at night when we returned from dinner. Therefore, we had to bump up onto the grass and leave our car there overnight. The spaces in the car park are unusually small and narrow!

Check-in and check-out was quick and efficient.

In conclusion, at a quick glance, this hotel is a good, classic hotel. However, smaller details need to be addressed in order to improve standards. Having said this, we found our stay pleasant.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank JasminReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with work after a very long day I was greeted very warmly. Don't be fooled by the frontage of this place, it's just off the A34 on a busy road but inside it is stunning, a real character feel. Rooms are recently renovated and very clean.

Breakfast was great and the evening meal was of top quality. All staff very polite and accommodating. I would definitely go back.

Didn't use the pool but mental note made for next trip!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Went to the Stone House hotel for a family meal, a birthday party with 22 adults. Natalie was very helpful and allocated a dining room for our exclusive use. The hotel has recently been refurbished and has a welcoming feel. We were given a menu in advance with four choices each for starter, main and dessert which was perfect for our requirements. On the evening we were made very welcome. The deputy manager Nick was clearly committed to our party having a great experience. He was most attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Our party had a thoroughly enjoyable evening with well prepared food that was well served by friendly staff. We are looking to a return in the near future.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank john2872wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews