We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In urgent need of a refresh”
Review of Stone House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stone House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Stone
Reviewed 8 October 2017

This hotel is an old country house, set in nice grounds. Its reception has been upgraded and the public spaces are fine but the room we were in really lets it down. Essentially, it's not been decorated or upgraded since the 1990s at the earliest. A floral frieze runs around the top of the walls in the bathroom; the woodwork in the bathroom is rotting and we even had a wood louse! The fittings are all ancient, although functioning and in the bedroom the furniture is stained, tired and there's an overall feeling of grubbiness.

The rooms are dark and depressing, but the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was deeply unimaginative - three of the four cereals were variations on corn flakes (not Kellogg's either). All the fruit was tinned - pineapple, orange and grapefruit. And the toaster was the slowest in the world!

Staff were very pleasant and friendly, doing their best in trying circumstances. We felt that although the room was not particularly expensive, there was no reinvestment of money into the bedrooms. Perhaps ours was an exeption and we fell unlucky with a room that was rarely used? I know the hotel was very busy that night and the following one.

Room Tip: I would suggest upgrading if possible - perhaps these are better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank extramilecomms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2017

The scene was set by a rather charmless check in. Our room '31' was gloomy and uninviting (this was a superior upgraded room) so we spent as little time in it as possible. Breakfast both mornings was fine as was the food in the restaurant of an evening. The bar area served the purpose, however, this is not a hotel we would return to nor recommend.

Room Tip: Probably book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

On arrival it was obvious that this hotel is a friendly place.
Nice welcome from receptionist even though I was very late arriving.
My room was very large with a lovely comfortable bed and there was no traffic noise.
The restaurant food is of a very high standard and clearly the kitchen is run by a very competent chef.
Breakfast is served, top quality and the choice is comprehensive.
I’d certainly recommend this hotel and I’ll be returning.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Naldotwo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Arrived for a buffet organised by an association and had such a good time we decided to stay over and were lucky that they had a room available. Bed was super comfortable, the room was a good size and the bathroom was well appointed. Breakfast was more than adequate but the self service is a bit haphazard as it is currently served in quite a small place - refurbishment is currently underway so I assume this will change. Staff were very friendly. Drinks are a little dear but that is the same in all hotels.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TracyHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

We got married at the Stonehouse Hotel on 01/09/17. An absolutely amazing day we could not have asked for more. The staff were absolutely wonderful and the food was delicious. Even after the day as we stayed for the weekend nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel so special. The attention to detail was second to none. All of our guests have said the same. I would thoroughly recommend them to anyone.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone
2.2 km away
Days Inn Stafford
Days Inn Stafford
#3 of 5 in Stone
245 reviews
7.4 km away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
27.3 km away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
2.2 km away
Travelodge Stafford M6
15.8 km away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Hotel

Address: Stafford Road, Stone ST15 0BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Stone
Price Range: ₹ 4,961 - ₹ 8,827 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stone House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegantly restored country house, the traditional style creates a delightful and tranquil environment echoed in the peaceful gardens and patio areas. There are 50 en suite rooms and guest facilities including an indoor swimming pool, sauna and gym. Dine in our restaurant with its original fireplaces and views across the gardens or recharge your batteries in the Lounge Bar. Whatever your requirements, our experienced staff will be on hand to discuss your needs throughout your stay. Our personal attention to those little extra details, along with the courtesy of our staff, will leave you confident that your stay will be an enjoyable and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stone House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone House Hotel Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing