We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
111
158
85
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
158
85
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beans car park parking charge alton towers per night flaming grill town centre budget hotel pub next door staff on reception self service rooms are clean decent size free wifi would stay here again hot drinks lounge area
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 379 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night while visiting Burton on Trent. Easy check in, nice room. Excellent, helpful staff. Good breakfast. Only slight criticism is we had a lot of traffic noise from the road throughout the night, although I'm sure we could have moved if we had asked. Would recommend.

Date of stay: July 2016
Thank Mav2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Thank you very much for your review of the hotel following your stay with us. I was pleased to read that on the whole you were happy with your experience. However, I was sorry to learn that the noise from the nearby road, did disrupt your sleep somewhat.

I do hope that this experience does not deter you from using the brand, and indeed the hotel in the future, as we do have rooms on the other side of the building.

Kind regards

Alan Northern
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Short visit to Burton on Trent

Holiday inn express, one night, it's the same brand hotel, but functional and clean, breakfast basic but fair, staff very polite and helpful.

We are IHG members so points bonus as part of booking is recommended if you are with IHG rewards. Free drink was a bit mean only one of us in party.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Thank you for your great comments following your stay with us, I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

With regards to the complimentary drink on arrival, this is a benefit for Gold & Platinum Elite IHG Rewards Club members, and as per the terms and conditions, this benefit is applicable to the Rewards Club member only and not everyone in the party.

We hope to see you back at the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Alan Northern
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Stopped off here on the way home from Somerset. Big mistake. The handle on the window was broken so we could not close it and with this hotel being on a very very busy main road it was really noisy therefore we hardly slept because of traffic noise. If you stay at this hotel ask for a room on the opposite side of this road. We complained in the morning and were compensated which we accepted. Apart from this the breakfast was lovely and the staff were friendly and helpful. Another complaint was the room was very small considering there was a double sofa bed as well as a king size bed. We have stayed in Holiday Inns a lot and this was the smallest room we have ever had when there has been three of us.

Room tip: Ask for a room away from the main road
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank annesmith0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016

Thank you for your review of the hotel following your recent stay with us. I was sorry to learn that your sleep was disturbed due to the broken window latch. I will certainly get my maintenance department to look into this once I have determined the room number.

With regards to the bedroom size, we are a Holiday inn Express and not a Holiday Inn, and the room sizes do tend to be slightly smaller.

On a positive note I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed breakfast, the most important meal of the day!!

Kind regards

Alan Northern
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

Spot on room and spot on staff could not ask for more. I usually stay in premier Inn hotels but if all the holiday express hotels are like this one then on will definitely choose this chain too.

The only downside to this hotel is the £3 car park charge

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank MrPhilG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Thank you very much for your comments following your stay at the hotel. I was pleased to hear that on the whole you were very happy with the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you return when you are next in the area.

Kind Regards

Alan Northern
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

A clean, spacious family room with double and sofa bed for 2 adults, 2 children. The en-suite was a good size and again, clean. Breakfast was as advertised a few hot items but mainly continental with a wide selection of cold items. Coffee was nice too. Overall, a good budget hotel.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Butlerfamily4107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Thank you very much for your review of the hotel. I was pleased to read that everything was to your satisfaction for yourself and your family. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Alton Towers!!

Kind Regards

Alan Northern
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews