We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag”
Review of Harvester Centrum - CLOSED

Harvester Centrum
Price range: US$ 4 - US$ 20
Cuisines: British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Welcome to Harvester CentrumAt Harvester Centrum in Burton food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Burton, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Branston, Tatenhill and Centrum One Hundred, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Visited here with my wife because we happened to be in the area and couldn’t be bothered to drive further afield. On arrival, we were greeted by a scowling waitress who appeared to wish she was anywhere but at the restaurant. We weren’t filled with confidence, especially as her badge indicated she was a team trainer (Chloe B). Happily her mode of training was “do as I say, not as I do” because the waitress who served us (Kirsty) was very friendly, helpful and had a sunny disposition. Fortunately things continued to get better, because the meal we had ( steak and eggs) was well cooked, tasty and good value for money. I have read other reviews which suggested that the salad bar was not great and I would tend to agree. It was certainly unimaginative. Overall, the visit was only ok mainly because we got off to an inauspicious start. Perhaps Chloe should consider a job in admin rather than one which requires interaction with the public or maybe she was just having an off day.

Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi Ian L, we can assure you that we do not find this type of behavior acceptable, and we would like to address the situation you have described. Many thanks for taking the time to make us aware of this

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Terrible service, not good food & even the salad bar was poorly stocked. Waitress who served us was a bit rude.

Thank Beechess62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi, we can assure you that we do not find this type of behavior acceptable, and we would like to address the situation you have described. If you could give a duty manager a call on 01283 517935 at a convenient time for yourself we would really appreciate it, many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

The Harvester Centrum is typical of the newer harvesters that aren't attached to a pub. On arrival I was, again typically, ignored for a couple of minutes, but after that service was attentive and quick.

The choice of items in the salad bar included in the cost of all main meals was less than you would find in a bigger branch but still ran to 11 things, before counting the various dressings and croutons. Again as is common in a smaller Harvester, drinks were limited in choice, with no regular (non-alcoholic) ginger beer.

There's plenty of free parking which it shares with the Toby Carvery next door - both chains are owned by the same company. It's not far off the A38 - leave at the South end of the Burton bypass and going North towards Burton its on the right at the first traffic lights.

Thank MKMapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your positive experience! Our apologies for you not being greeted sooner as this is something we always try to do, as first impressions are so important, we hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Very poor service ! Lady that seved us looked suicidal! Misserable never cracked a smile never told us that salad bar was free. But this was just a manor thing. Food was terrible my partner was supposed to have

1  Thank 63Splitscreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hi 63splitscreen, we regret to hear that you are displeased with your recent experience with us. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

We only booked a midweek visit as we received a vip invite for 50% off the new menu. We went along with our 3 children to try the new menu after school as a treat. Seated okay after booking and that goes downhill from here... where do i start

Firstly when i got to order my choice the new salad etc, sorry I was told we have a new menu but you can't order off it for another few weeks as we are closing, yet the purpose of this visit was to try the new menu... the whole point you sent me a vip invite but i was told this restaurant is excluded although no where was this stated

Starters not cleared away, no cutlery with our main and final dish came 5 minutes after the other, no sauces offered and food poor and sat with a dirty table

Waitress Jenny decides to dissapear to talk to the other staff, then as my 9 year old poured some of her 4 year old refillable drink into her squash the waitress jenny suddenly appeared to say you are not going to like what i say next....... but as you have tipped 2 inch of drink into your daughter plastic cup I am going to have to charge you. i had paid for 4 refillable drinks anyway.

We decided to get up and pay and walk out the restaurant leaving our meal unfinished an d me very angry and upset. After 20 years of eating out....never once have i been treated in this way.

I won't be returning to this harvester

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sophie201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Harvester Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Hi Sophie, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit.

We would like to have a better understanding about your experience. Please reach out to us at 01283 517935 at your earliest convenience and we will do our best to resolve this with you.

Thankyou Harvester Centrum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harvester Centrum also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing