We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A no-brainer. Click 'Book'”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Sweethills

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Sweethills annex
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
The Sweethills annex
Secluded garden area. A perfect place to relax in the sun.
Kitchen
Small dining facilities in the kitchen
Kitchen
Shower room/WC
Shower room/WC
Shower room/WC
The annex
Secluded garden area
Cottage garden infront of the annex
View to the front
View to the front
View from the rear
View to the front
Wintertime
Wintertime
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Alton, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michael O
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A no-brainer. Click 'Book'”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Dorothy & John understand why people choose to come to the country. Our privacy and space were respected from the very start. That's not to say they were not available, but really the place is well kept that we didn't need to refer back to them. The property itself is decorated in a modern yet rustic manner. Particular note about the bedding, towels & bathroom - all were very clean though really the whole place was immaculate. We brought our dog along and he too loved it. Dorothy & John were most accommodating and welcoming of him too. In short, definitely recommend a weekend stay here.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickbi198...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Gorgeous little cottage”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Stayed on Friday 25th October. The cottage is in a great location for Alton towers & the little village of Alton. The cottage is situated on a farm attached to the owners home but its very private and peaceful. The cottage has its own parking space, garden & little sun house. The cottage is decorated gorgeous very modern, with a kitchen, small bathroom with a lovely shower & a good size bedroom. The cottage has everything you need to make your stay enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location & the deco
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the annex
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Matt7128
stoke-on-trent
1 review
“The Most peaceful relaxing getaway we have had in years”
Reviewed 5 July 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Well what can we say about our stay at the sweethills i stayed here with my partner on a lovely kid free break over Valentines day weekend February 2013 and we couldn't fault it, it was peaceful and relaxing, the apartment was finished to a very high standard and was absolutely spotless the owners were both lovely present people who clearly wen out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one including arriving to a complimentary bottle of wine and a box of my favorite chocolates there was a pint of fresh milk tea coffee and sugar which for a self catering break we thought was lovely the kitchen is well stocked with everything you could need, the bed was amazingly comfy their was even a selection of DVD's to watch a dvd player and tv , ample space to store your cloths and despite our stay being in the midle of winter snow everywhere and it was freezing the apartment was kept lovely and warm and really welcoming and homely to come back to would recommend the sweethills to anyone wanting a nice relaxing getaway with their partners - Matthew Callear and Bev Woodall thanks guys :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the high standard of finishing and furnashings
Liked least: nothing it was fab
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottersamm...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant! Perfect for dog owners.”
Reviewed 30 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just left Sweethills after staying for a night and I've got to say it was absolutely lovely! Greeted on arrival by Dorothy, who was very friendly and welcoming, and left us some chocolates and fresh milk! The bungalow was clean and inviting, and the views and walks were just spectacular! Rented the bungalow for the weekend due to it being my
partners birthday and he had a great time. Also took our German shepherd dog and the place was perfect for him, plenty of walks and a huge shared garden for him to play in! Lovely, big 5 stars will come again! Great price too!
Thank you.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 85
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing