We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fun way to have dinner!”

Rollercoaster Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 12 Restaurants in Alton
Description: Rollercoaster Restaurant is set below a vast rollercoaster track where diners can watch as their order tackles two gravity defying loop-the-loops before dropping 8 metres down the tornado spiral to their table. Each diner will enjoy a full 360˚ dining experience at one of the 13 tables and will get to select from the brand new menu of family favourites.
Restaurant details
Description: Rollercoaster Restaurant is set below a vast rollercoaster track where diners can watch as their order tackles two gravity defying loop-the-loops before dropping 8 metres down the tornado spiral to their table. Each diner will enjoy a full 360˚ dining experience at one of the 13 tables and will get to select from the brand new menu of family favourites.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

When entering the restaurant you realise you are not gonna have a normal meal, with food flying down roller-coasters.
We got seated and shown how to order through the tablet, which was a bit odd at first but meant we could order what we wanted without time pressure.
The waiter Lee was very attentive and made sure we were having an enjoyable experience, giving us excellent recommendations on what was best on the menu. He was definitely right about the brownie, which was delicious!
I loved the whole experience and probably had the best dinner, all the little touches in the restaurant just made the night. I would highly recommend a visit and would go back again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank WAK1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Rollercoaster Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Dear wendykeeler2018,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Rollercoaster Restaurant!

We are delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic stay with us!

Thank you for sharing your experience and insights with other guests currently planning their own visits to Alton Towers Resort.


We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort again soon!

Best Wishes,

Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

367 - 371 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Our daughter wanted to go and to be fair having your food delivered by roller coaster is pretty cool!! What isn't so good is having food delivered to the table at different times .... apparently it says this on the website.... is it on bold that you can wait up to 30 mins between each course?? As that's the reality of it!!! Lots of people had experience d this... someone told us on the path there and the family sat opposite had waited 45 mins for a steak!!! While his wife had finished her main !!
They don't take your order.... but bring over an iPad for you to do it!!! By the time they explain how to order they could order your food!!! This isn't efficient .... everyone has a place number, however one person is best ordering all the orders on their number.... otherwise the food comes down whenever!!! It's still a slow service.... the toilets were disgusting.... if the staff aren't ordering the food, they make some drinks very slowly.... then they should be checking the toilets regularly!!! No toilet roll shocking in the disabled, and two out of the three in the ladies.... with most of the toilet roll all over the floor... gross!!!
The food is ok, the kids macaroni is good!! Food and drink is dear but it's the experience your paying for which is cool.... it's a shame not everything is as good as the loop the loop your food does!!

Thank Orbine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Rollercoaster Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Orbine,

Thank you for taking the time to review Alton Towers Resort's Rollercoaster Restaurant on Trip Advisor.

We're very grateful for all feedback, as it allows us to ensure that we're delivering the most amazing experiences to every single guest who dines with us.

We're disappointed to note the issues experienced during your visit; we'll be speaking with the Restaurant Manager to ascertain exactly what happened in this instance, and ensure that it never happens again.

We hope to welcome you back to the Restaurant soon.

Best wishes,

Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Kids loved it and a novel idea but food was expensive and arrived cold and was very bland

Room was not very big and the tables where very close together and overcrowded

Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Rollercoaster Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Michael H,

Thank you for taking the time to review Alton Towers Resort's Rollercoaster Restaurant on Trip Advisor.

We're very grateful for all feedback, as it allows us to ensure that we're delivering the most amazing experiences to every single guest who dines with us.

We're disappointed to note the issues experienced during your visit; we'll be speaking with the Restaurant Manager to ascertain exactly what happened in this instance, and ensure that it never happens again.

We hope to welcome you back to the Restaurant soon.

Best wishes,

Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Great idea but food let's it down. Wrong meal sent to table, kids burger burnt to charcoal, sent back and changed to one slightly better although adults nearly finished by then. Adult burger tasty but cold on arrival. Expected more. Service OK.

Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Rollercoaster Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Mark O,

Thank you for taking the time to review Alton Towers Resort's Rollercoaster Restaurant on Trip Advisor.

We're disappointed to note the issues experienced during your visit; we'll be speaking with the Restaurant Manager to ascertain exactly what happened in this instance, and ensure that it never happens again.

We hope to welcome you back to the Restaurant soon.

Best wishes,

Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We had a great time at the rollercoaster restaurant while we were staying over at the alton towers hotel. It's a bit more expensive than the hotel restaurants, and the food's not anything spectacular but it was lots of fun watching the food arrive on the tracks and the kids were fascinated with all the current and previous rollercoasters featured around the restaurant.

Our server Trinity was great, she explained how to use the ipads to order and all about how the food arrived etc. and made us feel very comfortable to ask her for any help. Which we definitely had to do as our food initially was delivered to another track apparently, and later a whole load of food came to ours when it wasn't for anyone on our set of tables. The system definitely isn't perfect but if you join in with it being a fun experience it just added to the evening - being aware of the possibility is important so you can chase food up if need be!

Trinity was also great and went to get a chef to come and talk to us to confirm my food was correct as I ordered the kids veggie sausages but it was rather confusing when it arrived - on the wrong number and with chips and beans instead of mash, peas and gravy. Apparently that's how the veggie sausages come as the gravy (fair enough) and the mash (odd!) aren't veggie. No mention of this on the menu which I really think there should be, it simply said quorn sausages are available as a substitute to pork. It was nice enough but sausages, chips and beans is very different to sausages, mash, peas and gravy! Kids portions were generous, plenty big enough for me, both for the main and pudding and masses for our kids.

1  Thank Elin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Rollercoaster Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Elin2002,

Thank you for taking the time to review Alton Towers Resort's Rollercoaster Restaurant on Trip Advisor.

We're very grateful for all feedback, as it allows us to ensure that we're delivering the most amazing experiences to every single guest who dines with us.

Its great to hear you and your family enjoyed this experience and have left us a 5* review!

Your comments have been forwarded to the Restaurant Manager, who'll be utilising your feedback as part of his ongoing review.

We hope to welcome you back to the Restaurant soon.

Best Wishes,

Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rollercoaster Restaurant also viewed

Alton, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Farley, Staffordshire
 

Been to Rollercoaster Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing