We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect location to recharge.”
other travellers have booked this property
Cosy sleeps 2 on small complex with indoor heated pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy sleeps 2 on small complex with indoor heated pool
Christmas 2017
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Cosy sleeps 2 on small complex with indoor heated pool
Christmas 2017
Indoor heated shared pool.Open all Year.
Shared gardens with picnic / BBQ area.
Exmoor , rural valley location
Red Deer on Triscombe Land
Carvery at our local 'Rest & Be Thankful' pub
Cutcombe Church
Wheddon Cross shop & garage
Red Deer
Lee Hill
Watersmeet
Porlock Bay
Tarr Steps
Minehead
Minehead Beach
West Somerset Railway
Wimbleball Lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Wheddon Cross, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Passenger...
1 review
“perfect location to recharge.”
Reviewed 25 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

we found the location so relaxing it was great, the swimming pool was an added bonus and the location perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrainFart...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“REVIEW FOR BRACKEN COTTAGE ONLY: stunning, secluded, countryside setting but be aware if breathing problem”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at Bracken cottage as Primrose had been booked a few hrs earlier and TripAdvisor booking system didn't let me change it. We were offered a small discount as a result. Communication by owner was very quick.

Bracken cottage was all ground floor with a covered patio. The cottage was spacious and clean. were allowed late check in as unfortunately changeover day is Friday and couldn't get the day off work. We were sad to hear that the owner was unwell and other family and friends did a great job of looking after us. E.g. post was hand delivered. Biscuits, tea/coffee, milk and bottle of wine provided.

The location is stunning, like a small hamlet in the valleys with a buzzard circling above the beautiful, spacious gardens with stream, info room, tennis court etc. You'll need to bring your own grill and utensils to use the brick shell BBQ. Very well situated to explore the whole of Exmoor. Easy to go for walks from the cottage or drive. Owners have friendly labradors and a cat who likes to cuddle but does play bite too. It is great for anyone with mobility issues as all level with patio and car next to flat. Tarr steps, Watersmeet, Lynton, Lymington, Dunster all great. Very quiet area, did 5hr hike around Dunster and didn't see a soul.

On to the 'nitty gritty' now: as soon as we walked in the dampness hit us. All rooms smelt damp and for the rest of the holiday we left all the windows open even when we were out (felt safe and we had nothing of much value!) and still all of our clothes smelt damp when we returned home after a week. On entering the bedroom that first evening I found about 30 gnats/flies in the bedroom which I hoovered up (along with cobwebs - spiders weren't hungry?). We got used to the dampness but anyone with respiratory conditions it may be a problem with Bracken cottage (ground floor, so other cottages may be better?).

The other safety issue is the scalding water in the bathroom. We notified the owner's handyman friend when we saw him at the end of the holiday, as with the traumatic times we understood the owner/family were going through, we didn't want to burden them further. We also notified him of a loose tap head on the bathroom sink and a CD player that didn't work, so hopefully these issues have been sorted. You can hear the elephant like footsteps of other holidayers in the cottage/flat above but this didn't bother us, but may bother someone else. Bring loo roll as only one roll provided, we don't holiday too much so not sure if this common.

We had a wonderful holiday here though and would return most definitely but at a different cottage. We booked last minute and most other places were charging £200 more. I hope this was helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: thoughtfulness, views, gardens, tennis court, location
Liked least: dampness with scores of flies in bedroom, scalding hot water in bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2016
Great to read you enjoyed Triscombe's location and exploring this often forgotten area, having a wonderful holiday. Responding to the "nitty gritty" it is a shame that you didn't report the issues you raise immediately, as we request in the guest information as this would have enabled us to put things right. I'm afraid we can't control the "wildlife" which are a nuisance from time to time & the smell of damp you mention was due to the over zealous watering system in place for the window boxed geraniums which we noticed on the day you left & the cottage was cleaned. We look forward to welcoming you again. The team at Triscombe wish you a Merry Christmas & all the best for 2017.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace P
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr & Mrs”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have nearly finished our honeymoon staying in the Fern cottage here at Triscombe farm and it has been delightful! It is so peaceful and beautiful here, we really couldn't have booked a nicer place. The cottage itself is perfect and is well equipped with everything necessary. The beds are comfortable and the cottage is just the comforting base you look forward to after a day of exploring. The owners, Bob and Ruth, have been very welcoming and informative. I literally couldn't say enough good things about this establishment, the people who run it and of course the beautiful surroundings. A firm 5 stars from my husband and I.
Grace and Oliver

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chameleon...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Best equipped cottage we've ever had”
Reviewed 6 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My wife and I stayed at Triscombe Farm for the first time last weekand our cottage was lovely, no negatives at all. Triscombe is a lovely place to unwind set in the wonderful Exmoor countryside and just a few minutes from a lovely pub that serves great food. What's not to like

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and quiet
Liked least: Nowhere to socialise in the evenings
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snearxx
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best way to leave the rat-race behind”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in April 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Triscombe Farm several times and will keep going back whenever we can. We love this place for many reasons. We have tried most of the cottages now and each has it's plus points. Some have better views than others and some have better layouts or features. The owners Bob and Ruth are so friendly and the location so peaceful we feel instantly at home here. It is so quiet you can't hear any traffic and even the wildlife is quiet! We love the pool and often have it to ourselves and a walk up onto the hill behind gives us beautiful views and reinforces how wonderful Exmoor is. It's true that the cottages are not luxurious, but they are comfortable and in keeping with the setting and any downsides are more than compensated for by the positives. If you really want to get away from it all and relax amongst the stunning West Country scenery and walks, then look no further than Triscombe Farm. We can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet amongst stunning scenery. Fantastic place to really chill out.
Liked least: Cane here. It is so quiet you can't hear any traffic and even the wildlife is quiet! We love the pool and often have it to ourselves and a walk up onto the hill behind gives us beautiful views and reinforces how wonderful Exmoor is. It's true that the cottages are not luxurious, but they are comfortable and in keeping with the setting be cold at times. But open fires usually compensate well.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing