We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
98
80
25
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
80
25
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new owners courtyard room nearby public car park visit exmoor dog owners steep stairs lovely hotel feel very welcome short break an evening meal central location lamb stayed here for one night night's sleep her husband comfortable bed night break
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

We were made to feel very welcome which is important - our room was very small but we had a great view. The shower room was just acceptable, we got a warm wetting and we were able to dry ourselves, that's all I could safely say about it. The breakfast was ok - and was served until 10.00 am which was appreciated. The hotel would benefit from a thorough tidy up, clear the clutter away from the communal rear entrance (it costs nothing) less is more I'm afraid. Clear the window cills in the dining area and throw out those dusty dried flowers - flick a duster round and make sure all the chairs match in the dining area. The fabric high back chairs are really nice. It would cost a fortune to do any more, so improve the easy things- the bar area also needs decluttering. I hope these suggestions have a positive effect and that you take them on board.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Caela1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016

We stayed here on a mid week break, 13th-15th April, and manged to get a hotel parking space, however we were asked to move our car for another guest relating to the car rally the following day. We complied but were disappointed by this request that has coloured our view of the hotel. The cooked breakfasts were good but there was no evening meals offered (see The Ship Inn instead) the overall atmosphere was faded and a little more attention to customer care would have helped. A shame because it looks as if it had a better reputation in the past.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatbloke60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2016

I enjoyed my night here, in a 'classic' old style English seaside hotel. Quiet and just a little bit jaded (the hotel, not me, ;-), but all the facilities you need at an excellent price. Breakfast was really good- again, an old style 'English', all the trimmings. Lovely cafetiere coffee too. Room was a tad cold, as was the shower, but these are minor niggles. All in all, a friendly welcome and pleasant stay. All you can ask really.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kernowcouple94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

We arrived in the pouring rain so drove straight round the back to the small car park (a tight entrance off the street). We tried to find our way into the hotel reception from there, but the entrance we found looked so awful we were convinced we weren't in the right place so we went back round the front. It turns out we were in the right place... it was incredibly messy and didn't look inviting at all. It certainly didn't give us a good first impression of the hotel. However, once inside, the owner was friendly and welcoming and our room at the front of the hotel was clean and adequate. Hubby tried the shower (attached very high above the bath - I couldn't even reach it) and wished he hadn't... it was totally inadequate. The bed was comfortable and I had a good night's sleep. The cooked breakfast next morning was good although there wasn't much choice if you didn't want something cooked. There was cereal and bread for toasting but no fruit or yoghurt. All in all it was adequate for the one night we stayed, but the hotel looks very tired - and the owners really must do something to tidy and clean up inside the rear entrance and the area between there and the car park ! We were almost falling over ourselves trying to make our way through...

Stayed: December 2015
2  Thank Rose A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2015

A rambling old hotel with lovely friendly staff with a welcome for all.
Some of the stairways smelt a little of damp and the public rooms and rear entrance were a little cluttered and perhaps in need of a spruce up but the bedrooms were homely and full of quaint charm.
Its very reasonably priced and dogs are welcomed too.
There is a very small car park at rear (about 6 cars) and some rooms are on ground floor in the old stables.
The breakfast had a selection of cereals/juices and had plenty of hot food options all served by efficient staff.
The hotel does have an evening restaurant but we ate out this time so we will have to try again next visit as the menu looked interesting.

Stayed: November 2015
1  Thank Stueeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews