We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very good experience”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
phatwajon...
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I was initially a bit concerned that there were only 3, albeit very good, reviews but decided to take the plunge anyway. I am glad I did, the house was really special. Very clean when we arrived, and very homely. The appliances and fittings are high-end and the owner(s) haven't skimped on anything. The location is also very good if you want to 'get away' from it, there are some good local walks and the church next door is an interesting find. The only downside is there is no shop in the village (or pub) but there is much more nearby.

I will be re-visiting Devon again in a few months and will be sure to check if the property is available to book again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“Pure awesomeness”
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Old School House must have been the best cottage we've ever stayed in. Perfectly located, cosy and stylish interior, dog friendly & a great experience over all. We stayed for six weeks and the cottage became a home to us. Helpful and friendly owners, great surrounding & worth every single penny - we'll definitely come back again. :)

Thanks for sharing this special place with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S
Penryn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful country cottage in lovely quiet location”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a wonderful stay at the Old School House. The cottage was very cosy and clearly a lot of love has gone into furnishing and decorating this lovely house. There was a slight issue picking up the key, but this was resolved quickly and easily so wasn't an issue at all. The sunny garden is perfect for eating outside, and the wood burner made the living room impossible leave as the evening got chillier. Perfect location near to Dunster and a great launch point for pretty walks. A perfect weekend away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy living room and airy bedrooms
Liked least: The cooker - it was rather tricky to use!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DandT452
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful, warm, stylish home from home”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here to celebrate a friend's birthday and it was the perfect venue. Picture postcard cottage nestled in beside the church in a little village. Much bigger than it looks from the outside as there are 3 good sized bedrooms, dining room, farmhouse style kitchen, living room, snug, and two bathrooms. From the moment we walked in we felt enveloped in comfort. There was a home made cake waiting for us, tea in the jar, milk in the fridge, and logs for the two wood burning stoves, ( there's central heating too and it was really cosy, even in February) The muted colour scheme, thick walls, and stylish solid furniture give it a wonderful atmosphere of peace and wellbeing. Everything has been thought of to make guests feel at home, and all the appliances and bedding etc are new and top quality, so when I say it's a home from home, it's actually a lot nicer than where I live! We had the best time just chilling, chatting, cooking on the range cooker, watched a DVD one night, and going on a pub crawl in nearby Dulverton, Brilliant Thai restaurant there, where we treated the birthday girl, and a couple of really lively and friendly pubs. Despite our avowed intention to do a lot of walking, we only did one short walk but the countryside is stunning, and if we'd been able to tear ourselves away from the cottage a bit more, and not eaten quite so much cake, it could definitely have been an active and healthy break!!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Little touches like the cake waiting for us
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 144
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing