We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect getaway retreat!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lars J
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway retreat!”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a wonderful short break in this delightful cottage. The surroundings were so peaceful and the perfect place to unwind. The cottage itself is spacious, well equipped and beautifully decorated with lovely furnishings. The beds and bedding were very comfortable with lovely crisp linen, and we had the best nights’ sleep in ages. We enjoyed sitting relaxing in the quiet garden with morning coffee and evening drinks.

The location is perfect for exploring Exmoor and we ventured as far afield as historic Dunster, Porlock Weir which is good for sea walks, and Lynmouth/Lynton on the north coast, though we were a little too late for cream tea as Lynmouth seems to shut at five o’clock sharp! The beautiful Exmoor scenery in early evening sun made up for this though on the drive back. Nearby Tarr Steps were well worth the visit and has several well marked walks along the picturesque river and is great for photographs.

The nearby village of Dulverton has everything you need, and enough shops for pottering and everywhere we went was dog-friendly. We had several super local walks along the River Barle to Dulverton and back – and along the old disused railway line which runs through Brushford.

Dulverton was a revelation for eating out; the Tantivy Cafe serves a great coffee and homemade cakes, and Woods’ Wine Bar did us proud for lunch and we would have gone back for supper had we been staying longer. The Bridge Inn serves good traditional pub food, which is unusual these days, and Farthings Farm Shop is worth a visit – and not just for the cooked breakfast in the courtyard on a sunny morning. Everywhere was reasonably priced and dog-friendly.

We felt that the mix of comfort and convenience was just right, and the cottage is quietly enough located to let you relax and do nothing, should you wish. We left feeling that there is so much more to explore in the area, and could not recommend staying here more highly, and we will return for longer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mal62673
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous cottage for relaxing getaway”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Picturesque cottage in beautiful, peaceful location that has the perfect setting for a relaxing getaway or equally for an active break with lots of walks and things to do in Exmoor. I loved the Aga in the kitchen that gave the whole house a cosy feel and the welcoming home-made cake and selections of tea coffee were a lovely touch. The bed was very comfortable and I had the best sleep I've had in a long time! Delightful town with excellent Thai restaurant; great butcher with wide selection of sausages and meat and good organic shops. Lovely walks right on the doorstep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Too many to choose from! So if I had to chhose one, it would be attention to detail
Liked least: The fact I was only staying for a weekend
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Isac789
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 2 Autumn nights in this fabulously renovated old school. Very clean and comfortable. Everything you need for a truly wonderful stay. Particularly like the the home made cake with tea and coffee facilities there to greet you on arrival. Plenty of lovely walks around and the local town only a short drive away. Felt really homely.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallyr7
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top quality and total relaxation guaranteed”
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I've just got back from my second long weekend stay at Old School House in Brushford and once again, it was an idyllic and totally relaxing get-away-from-it-all break for my friends and I. Although it was over a year ago since I was last here, the house is still in immaculate condition and is spotlessly clean, with lovely touches all around (e.g. Egyptian cotton bed linen, soft & fluffy pure white towels, wood for the log burners, fresh flowers, scrumptious cake waiting for us, tea/coffee/milk etc).
I can honestly say that both times I've stayed here for a long weekend, I've slept better than anywhere else - even my own home! I'm not sure if it's the incredibly comfortable beds, the fresh country air, the really homely feel of the house, or the peace & tranquility of the surroundings - but I genuinely never want to leave, as it's so relaxing.
The house is really cosy and truly feels like a home-from-home, not rented accommodation and I highly recommend it for a relaxing weekend on your own (it feels very safe & secure), or a family/friends escape from city life. Dulverton is only minutes away and there's enough there for evening entertainment and shops etc, too, if you feel the need. But the place is so inviting, we didn't want to stray too far from it for long. Lovely walks on the doorstep, too.
Thank you, I'll most definitely be coming back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its homely and familiar feel
Liked least: not applicable - everything was perfect
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing