We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
74
48
38
20
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
48
38
20
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday lunch amazing hotel a bit tired lovely breakfast wedding vince motorway junction conservatory
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Our first impressions were good, with nice grounds and the building itself was very nice. we were staying hear for a wedding and were able to book in by midday which was handy as we wanted to shower and dress before the ceremony at 2pm. We were giving the keys at reception and had to find our way to the room. Once we managed to open the damaged door to our room, we found the furnishing in such a bad condition that it should of been put in a skip, then checking the bathroom we found hair in the bath plug hole, sink taps not cleaned and toilet not even flushed.
Not wanting to make a fuss at the wedding, we put up with it, but even the bed was not fit for purpose.
With regards the service and food offered at the wedding, we could not fault it, it was amazing and this is why my heading is entitled mixed feelings. I would go back for the food but never book a room again.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Arrived to find the reception area empty, a lady appeared and booked us in - gave us the key to the room and explained they locked the door at night etc., didnt ask if we required anything or what time the meals were in fact nothing else was said. The room was very nice with a big comfy bed, but there was no signal to watch the TV, couldnt get the internet to work, and the shower - well the water pressure was low so you had trouble getting wet. - The hotel in the evening was very quiet which was very nice for sleeping, however, there was a function going on in the back room, and they constantly came to the bar to say things,like I stil havent had my ice cream is my drink coming - and if more than nine guests wanted to sit down it would have been a problem, at breakfast we were left standing in the dining room for over 5 mins before another guest pointed us to the breakfast facilites, and when I asked which jug of milk was what - was told its all semi skimmed. there was no choice. we didnt wait for breakfast eat somewhere else instead. When I went t pay to leave the hotel he had trouble using the machine for a card - no surprise he couldnt get a signal to make it work, why dont they have a connected one ?
we will not be going back not at all what we expected from the review.

Room Tip: I didnt look round the hotel, but another guest complained that room 6 was above the kitchen and was noisy from the extractor fans
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank phil p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

We stayed here as a overnight on our journey to south Cornwall, the reviews we mix, but we thought for one night we'd be alright,
But, from our experience the staff we very welcoming, the room clean and bright, we eat in the restaurant that night and enjoyed our meals. And breakfast next day great. We will stop again.

Room Tip: We stayed inrooms 15/16 views across the farm land
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 1971Ivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent J, Manager at Battleborough Grange Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Thank you, Ivan, for your positive review.
I have passed your comments on to chef, front of house staff and house-keeping.
We do hope to keep all our guests happy, and are always pleased to see them again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016

We were a group of twelve booked in for an early evening meal. The website advertises 3 set menu's at different prices which we had intended to select from but when we arrived we were informed that these were only available for functions and we would have to choose from the A La Carte Menu, which is not shown on the website at all . This menu seemed somewhat expensive eg. Sausage and Mash for £14.95 but we all chose something not wanting to spoil the evening. Six of our party wished to order Pan fried Sea Bass, however we were informed that although it was only 6.30pm they only had 3 portions left. The meals arrived and the size of the Sea Bass was miniscule all three meals might have made one reasonable portion. (See Photo) The manager who was quite dismissive and offhand said he considered the meal acceptable. Two of our party decided not to have an alternative meal since the rest had already started eating. Two of the group had chosen to have the Mushroom Risotto which was also a very small portion and they called in on their way home to have Fish & Chips. The other meals were satisfactory but overpriced.
The group had come to the restaurant for the last meal of our six day tour and this was by far the worse eating experience we had all week.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Hilary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016

We visited this Restaurant for dinner, as a group of friends.
We were seated in a lovely private room and our expectations rose. The menu was set out before us and the first impression was that it was on the expensive side for what was offered.
For this money we looked forward to a treat, only to end up being annoyed.
Speaking for myself and my wife only, the starters we chose were fine; a prawn cocktail, and an asparagus and poached egg.
The main courses were a pan-fried sea bass at about £17.95 and a Somerset sausage and mash at about £16.95. At these prices they should be special!!!
My wife's sea bass was a shriveled single piece of fish which we sent back and were not charged for. We shared an ordinary sausage and mash!!!!
No more need be said.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cobham_SurreyRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews