We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy Welsh retreat”
View up the hill to the Farmhouse and Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View up the hill to the Farmhouse and Barn
Front view of farmhouse Front view of Farmhouse & Barns
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
View up the hill to the Farmhouse and Barn
Front view of farmhouse
Front view of Farmhouse & Barns
Barns from the track
View from the 2 properties
Hallway of the Farmhouse
Kitchen Farmhouse
Bedroom in cottage
Farmhouse bedroom
Main Bedroom Farmhouse
Downstairs bedroom Farmhouse
Upper Bedroom Barn
Beautiful beams in the Barn
Evening view
Rainbow over local field
Views
Autumn trees
Kitchen in Farmhouse
Sitting room in Farmhouse
Artist impression of Barns, due to be finished by 29th April 2016
View from a bedroom in Barns
Welsh name for Upper Valley Farmhouse
Bunk room in Farmhouse
Farmhouse bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
10 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Oswestry, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
miss_ija
London, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cozy Welsh retreat”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed as a group in the Cottage for a long weekend, but could've stayed longer, as it was so comfortable and warm, and there were tons of books to keep you occupied. The age of the house is astounding, loved living with the old historic beams and fireplaces. The log fires in both the kitchen and living room gave it a cozy feel. Fun looking out at all the sheep and new lambs. Other pros: Good shower, Great bath, Good sized kitchen, very well stocked with pans/cutlery etc. Cons: Very old internal walls are a little thin so noise can travel.

I recommend taking a walk up the track through the fields, about 45mins to the top of the hill, through some woods, where it opens out to a really beautiful wide open view.

Had a peek at the Barn property next door - which looks brand new inside. The barn looks amazing and luxurious & has a hot-tub outside it. Definitely going to get a larger group together and come back to stay in the barn!

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2016
Hi.
Many thanks for taking the time to write a great review on our Farmhouse - it is very much appreciated. We are so pleased you found time to enjoy the books and the fires as well as the character of the property. The Barns have just been renovated - keeping the original features but with a very modern feel and they can sleep up to 14 so great for a larger gatherings - let me know when you would like to come back!. Many thanks Vicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NigelDent...
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Christmas farmhouse”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had probably our favorite Christmas ever at Upper Valley Farmhouse.
It was warm and cozy with plenty of space. The kitchen, was a typical farmhouse kitchen but with a cozy sitting area with a real fire built into an old stove at one end with a large dining area adjacent perfect for preparing Christmas dinner!
Across the hallway is the main lounge, full of charm with the most amazing walkin inglenook fireplace. We loved it. You could stand inside the fire and look up the chimney, Santa could get down this one no problem with reindeer attached.
It is really remote up a narrow lane which added to its charm with beautiful countryside all around, great for walking the dog etc.
A real homely house ideal for getting away from it all with loads of character.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2016
Hi Nigel
Thank you very much for your thoughtful and creative review - what a charming way to describe the Farmhouse! We are so pleased you had such a lovely, cozy Christmas up there and enjoyed all the delights of the location and property. Many thanks for taking the time to write about us and we hope to welcome you back some time soon. Vicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
London UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Home away from home in the most beautiful setting”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stayed here in April for a family getaway and this was a fabulous find. We stayed in the cottage and they were putting the finishing touches to an adjacent barn that had been fully renovated.

The cottage was cosy with heaps of character and a really homely feel. There is a great kitchen to relax or dine in, the bedrooms were all a pretty good size and there is also a comfortable living room and TV/chill area upstairs. Perfect for a family with everything really well thought through. The views are also stunnning with lots of great local walks.

We were very kindly shown around the new barn by Ben and Carolyn the owners who are lovely. This was absolutely stunning with top notch fittings and absolutely perfect for large group of families or friends. The place even has a cinema room!

We have stayed in lots of holiday cottages but what is offered here is truly exceptional.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: LOcation and cosy homely feel
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 842
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing