We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveller rating
233
158
40
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
233
158
40
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed main restaurant bar area special occasion large party evening meal following morning excellent food a la carte menu large room both mornings the severn valley railway cooked breakfast lovely room cooked to perfection saturday night enjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 449 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

This was our second visit here and it was a delight. Lovely staff, friendly and pleasant. The rooms were charming and it was good value for money.
Breakfast was tasty. All in all the top place locally to stay...

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank katiefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

Myself and husband dined here for our anniversary meal, when we booked we asked to be in the restaurant as it was a special occasion - we arrived and entered into the bar and were stood waiting for 20 mins until the waiter came to our attention no apology at all he took our drinks order and we sat at the bar he then gave us the menu at the bar and not at our table which would have been more professional. After pondering the menu he then took us to our table didn't offer to take our coats, if you are charging high prices for your food then the service should follow to that standard of your 2 AA rosette award.

Anyway we ended up sitting in the bar / lounge when we assumed we would be in the restaurant as that is what i had asked for at the time of booking it wasn't until after our meal we had noticed they were doing some kind of renovation work to the restaurant room - but again why didn't the staff have the courtesy to mention at the time of booking or on the night that we would be sat in the bar and is that okay with us as this took away what was supposed to be a romantic anniversary meal for the both of us.

The food was average and nothing to go mad about, service was appalling 2 staff on and not once did they ask if we wanted any more drinks or if our meal was okay which is common practice as a waiter/waitress. The staff were not attentive at all especially the guy on the bar no people skills whatsoever.

Also ourselves and other diners were being attacked by fly's that were landing everywhere myself and husband could only think they had flown in from the door that was left open where the renovation works were taking place. It was not a very nice experience whilst eating your food. The food service was slow and overheard other diners complaining how long they had to wait.

Overall overpriced food/drinks and service needs a major improvement.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank millienick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed a fantastic meal this evening. Great friendly service. Food very tasty and well presented. Good varied menu with lots of choice.Wine selection was good and well priced. Plan to stay at the hotel next time so will definitely be coming back for more of the same!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank humpo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Ate a late Sunday lunch in The Lounge - very friendly service. Three of us had battered hake - really good. I could have eaten the tartare sauce on its own - excellent! The chips however were triple cooked and tasty but far from crisp - floppy. The lentil curry - very good with individual flavours coming out and a good bit spicy - mint yogurt and mango chutney very good - garlic flat bread was a little dry and flat.
Desserts: Apple and rhubarb crumble - good! Bread & butter pudding - delicious and light made with brioche, I think. The sorbet (coconut, blackberry, and Oh! Oh! Oh! passion fruit) definitely the best I've ever had.
Would we go again - oh yes!

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

Not the first time we have been as a couple to stay here.Very friendly and the food is amazing.staff very friendly and sociable .we have had friends that have stayed and they also enjoyed their visit .lovely little courtyard where you can sit and have a drink.the countryside around this area is amazing.and even though we have been quite a few times we still feel we have still not seen it all.well done raven

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews