We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Certificate of Excellence
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed in this hotel overnight whilst visiting family in the area. The disabled room is situated in The Forge, a separate building to the main hotel, and was spacious and well heated with a large easily accessed en suite bathroom. There is no separate shower, it is situated over the bath butI was made aware of this at the time of booking so it was my choice to accept the room. The hotel has a wonderful atmosphere and the staff are friendly and attentive. The evening meal was excellent albeit a fixed menu, but understandable given that we stayed in the week between Christmas and New Year. Breakfast was a great experience with a wide choice of food available, and all freshly cooked, a fabulous change to the pre-cooked food kept hot under heat lamps that you get in so many hotels now. For me the only downside was that the disabled room was away from the main hotel building and whilst the actual distance between the two is very slight, if you have mobility problems be warned you will need transport across the car park from one to the other.
Other than that a lovely place to stay, good value, good food and friendly efficiant service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian-Suzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    147
    34
    8
    8
See reviews for
31
267
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2011

My partner and I stayed for two nights between Christmas and New Year. Apart from problems with the heating in the forge where our room was it was an excellent stay. The food was very good and the Raven beer in the bar was outstanding.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildcat1691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We were booked in here by the bride for a wedding party but liked the hotel so can imagine coming back for an independent break. You couldn't be anywhere else but England ... but unlike some typically English hotels this one was comfortable with excellent service. The cooked breakfast was delicious so all in all a thumbs up.

Much Wenlock is a really attractive place and we enjoyed our trip here very much.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Izbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Had not eaten here for a couple of years but we were delighted to find its quality and standard was as good as ever. Whilst the choice on the menu is not large it does offer a good choice of meat and fish dishes which were cooked to the highest standards and we were offered an excellent choice of accompanying vegetables. There was similarly a good choice of starters and desserts and those we chose were excellent. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarionDerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I was defintely half the age of the other guests but it did not matter - we were only there one night. We had a really lovely room - in the barn - very quiet. Gorgeous little town steeped in history. The food was very good.and an interesting menu. Walked Wenlock Edge - slightly disappointing walk - the Long Mynd is much more dramatic.

Room Tip: The outside barn room that we had was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurreyTravel_Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Wenlock
5.6 km away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
884 reviews
0.2 km away
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
The Gaskell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Much Wenlock
106 reviews
31.9 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.9 km away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
843 reviews
17.9 km away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
593 reviews
8.9 km away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raven Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raven Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 30 Barrow Street, Much Wenlock TF13 6EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Much Wenlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Much Wenlock
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,903 - ₹ 9,911
Hotel Class:3 star — The Raven Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Raven Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raven Hotel And Restaurant
Raven Hotel Much Wenlock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing