We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveller rating
190
151
66
51
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
151
66
51
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubspecials boardsteaknice toiletriesnice atmospheresaturday nightyorkshire puddingcooked to perfectionduckwychwood brewerybed and breakfastcomfortable stayfull englishbooked a tablelovely roomstayed for one nightboth nights
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 477 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

If you want a drink with a nice view this is the place for you. If you want anything to eat, don’t bother going. I have eaten here a few times now and the food at best is sub par. You really could cook the same meal at home, only it would taste better. Went there this evening to be served chicken with cartilage still attached to my breast meat. Upon complaint I was told this was just skin. It wasn’t! Burger small and bun burnt, slaw that smelt off. Really was awful. Although a discount was given off our meal, this place is best avoided if you are looking for a good place to eat. The other gastro pubs in Witney serve much better quality of food. As said, good for a drink but nothing else. Such a shame as this place good be amazing if they hired someone who could actually cook.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

We spent a night and ate at The Fleece as part of a 1000 mile road trip 'Down South' and I'm afraid it was the most disappointing of all the places we stayed in. Arguably, an illustration of the fact that there are so many people in Oxford, places just don't bother trying to give good value.

Plain, small, tired-looking, baking hot room with not even a fan available was more like a prison. Poor quality, pretentious, expensive food - a real disappointment.

If you want a classic example of what's wrong, just go there for breakfast and ask for a pot of tea - you'll get a little tray with your milk in a miniature glass milk churn, your sugar served in a Tale & Lyle tin, a little saucer containing a selection of Smarties (that well known English breakfast accompaniment) and........a teapot with such a small 'arty' spout that it doesn't pour properly, so spills tea all over the table. So ultimately, all the pretensions don't deliver - which just about sums this place up (and Oxford, some might say).

To be fair, the parking was good, the staff were very helpful and friendly, plus the appearance / setting of the pub are very attractive, but that is all secondary to performance, at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ShropshireLass69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Stayed overnight for a function in Witney. From the moment we arrived, the staff were very friendly and helpful. It was buzzing for Sunday lunch (it was Father's day, but I suspect it's like it most Sundays) and it's clear that the food has a good reputation locally. We couldn't get into our room immediately as we were too early but it was no problem, we had to go to our rehearsal but we could leave the car which was fantastic. When we finally arrived back in the evening, the room was capacious - lovely towels, kettle, drinks etc, hot hot hot water and a comfy bed - fabulous! If I were to criticise anything it is just to say the bathroom itself is a bit dated and the old fashioned sash windows might leave a bit to be desired in December! However, we had a great night. Breakfast is served downstairs in the restaurant. Basic fruit, mini packs of cereals and fruit juices self service then you can order anything from their extensive public breakfast menu. Wow! Quality of the food and egg cooking was splendid. Absolutely no criticisms at all. Very good deal for B&B (cheaper to book with the hotel than booking.com) and would definitely use them again. Great staff and great stay, well done!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma W, Reservations at The Fleece, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Hi Julie,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay. We are so pleases to hear you enjoyed your time with us and that you would stay again. We love what we do, glad you do too and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

The Fleece is always busy and it’s obvious why. Great food, service and atmosphere. Really good offers sent via email if you sign up too.
Really like this restaurant. Has menu with good choice and specials board. Good wine list too AR very reasonable prices.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

we were in the stable block, only five steps from main building. The room was ok..ish, compared to their web page our room needed some TLC, but was fine for the evening., We did not dine there but the food that was being dished up looked fantastic, with extremely courteous staff . breakfast was served from am until 11am and was possibly the best value for money breakfast we have had in years

Room Tip: maybe the rooms in main hotel would have been better?
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank casamia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews