We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
118
104
49
37
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
104
49
37
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscotch eggpork bellymini barhigh streetvisiting witneywarm nightcentral locationbreakfast was includednice atmospherelovely roomstayed for one nightcooked to perfectioncomfy bedfull englishboth nightsmain buildingmenu
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

I was very disappointed with both the quality of the accommodation and the customer service at this hotel .
We had 2 rooms reserved for us as we were travelling to country file live with our two children . It was a shame that one of the rooms was in the main building and one in the annexe but this didn’t bother us too much . What we found unacceptable was the low standard of the annexe room . There was no headboard and lots of marks and stains covering the wall behind the bed . Additionally there was no valance sheet on the bed so the bottom of the bed was left exposed . The general tone of the place just seemed rather unwelcoming towards guests , as if they were some sort of inconvenience and not to be trusted . I was somewhat bemused by the little sign in both rooms which provided an inventory of charges payable , should you steal individual items from the room ! Perhaps this was supposed to be humorous but it gave the impression that guests were really an unnecessary burden on the establishment .

The restaurant seemed insufficiently staffed and again , customer service seemed not to be much of a priority . There were no apologies when we waited an hour for our food . When it finally arrived , one of the children’s meals had been forgotten entirely and again there seemed to be a complete lack of concern .

Breakfast also didn’t go well . Whilst we were made aware that breakfast is not usually served before 8 am at weekends , we were part of a large group needing to depart around 8. On the first morning , arrangements were made to leave us bacon sandwiches and pastries , but on the second day this didn’t materialise either . I actually ended up raiding fridges to seek out fruit juice , milk etc for our children . Eventually ,someone appeared with a loaf of bread and a toaster . Again , no apologies .

On the whole , I would say this is probably the worst customer service I’ve ever encountered in A hotel , which is a shame , given the excellent potential offered by such a beautiful building and setting .

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Henrietta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

After ordering drinks and setting up a tab we were told that they couldn’t take food orders due to a couple of large tables - this should have been made clear when they accepted our tab, not half an hour later. Disappointing as we have had good food there in the past

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank craigpullen2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakman I, Guest Relations Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Many thanks for your comments,

We are disappointed that you did not find the service up to scratch on your most recent visit. Lots of our guests do set up a tab in the bar just for drinks so I can imagine this would have been why you were not informed that there was no food service in the bar at that particular time.

We do hope that you will visit us again and enjoy some of the delicious food we have to offer.

Kind Regards,
Sophie
The Blue Boar Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

When the bar wasn’t busy, it took over 30 minutes for two cocktails to be made and one was the wrong cocktail! Slow service, lack of interaction from staff and horrible tasting cocktails! Disappointing.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Charlotte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakman I, Guest Relations Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Thank your for your feedback. All we can do is offer our sincerest apologies. I can assure you that this is not our usual standard of service and we will take your comments on board to inform the staff. We would love to have you back for another time so that we can show you that this was just a one off.

Kind Regards

Jamal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

Great location, food and service. On Main Street in Witney, above a pub. Dinner in garden with wood fired pizza oven. Great selection of beers. Room big, clean and air conditioned - important in this weather. Only slight downside is no onsite parking but really not an issue as free parking on street and car parks around.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank MXYZPTLK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakman I, Customer engagement officer at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

We're so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you got to try one of our wood fired pizzas, we're big fans! We look forward to welcoming you again upon your return to Witney.

Kind Regards,
Chloe

The Blue Boar Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

We spent two nights during our 2018 summer holiday in The Blue Boar hotel. Traveling as a family of 5 (kids 9,11 and 13) can sometimes be hard, but not here. We god a good sized room with space for all and plenty of towels. Not feeling we were missing anything. The staff was great - friendly and accommodating. And the breakfast was excellent. The only thing we regretted was not booking more nights in this place.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Andreas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakman I, Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Hi Andreas

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to see you and your family again in the not too distant future.

kind regards, Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews