We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 89
US$ 76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 90/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Eynsham Hall Hotel(North Leigh)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 113
US$ 108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Witney Hotel(Witney)(Great Value!)
US$ 89
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fleece(Witney)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 144
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 310
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveller rating
115
102
48
36
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
102
48
36
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscotch eggpork bellymini barhigh streetvisiting witneywarm nightcentral locationbreakfast was includedlovely roomstayed for one nightcooked to perfectioncomfy bedfull englisha lovely stayboth nightswaitroseminibar
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 328 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Blue Boar for 2 nights. Lovely place! Great location in the heart of Witney. Staff was very attentive. Hotel was beautiful and quaint. Walking around town was nice an close to friends house. Great food in the restaurant.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakman I, Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Thank you very much for you lovely review.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Wishes

The Blue Boar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Firstly the evening meal was very good. There was a wide choice on the menu and it was well cooked and presented.
The breakfast was good, the full English was great as was the choice of beverages, but we were disappointed by the lack of any fruit, be it fresh or tinned.
There was a good choice of drinks available at the bar.
Unfortunately the experience of the hotel accommodation fell a long way short of what was expected and advertised.
We were offered other rooms or a discount.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakman I, Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Thank you for the review, high standards are important to us and we will pass on you comments to the management team.

Best Wishes

The Blue Boar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We were really impressed with the Blue Boar. The service from the moment we arrived was first class. The assistant team manager Sally was very friendly and helpful. The bar staff were very kind. We loved the room. The bed was very comfortable. Our only bugbear was the shutters on the window didn't close properly and let light in, the floor tiles in the bathroom were loose and the room was far too hot. However, that said we would definitely stay again. Breakfast was delicious.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kyla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakman I, Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Thank you for your review and bringing these matters to our attention.

High standards are important and your comments will be shared.

Best Wishes

The Blue Boar Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Based upon the website photos of the room we were looking forward to our stay at The Blue Boar, we enjoyed a reduction on the Standard Room Rate but still paid £115 for our one night stay including breakfast so our expectations were raised. In the event we were shown to a room in the stables across the courtyard, never a good thing in my experience, especially in winter when you have to leave the snug of the restaurant or bar to pad back to your room in the freezing cold. There is no information on the website about this, had there been I would not have booked. The room itself was decidedly average, an attempt at vintage furniture had been made but fallen short and it just looked like the stock of a junk shop to me. The bathroom had a major issue with the course of tiles around the bath coming away from the wall allowing water from the shower to drain behind the bath, hence the bathroom smelt a bit musty and there were signs of damp on the other side of the wall in the hallway. There were no adjustable valves on the radiators so when we returned to our room it was stifling and we had no choice but to use the aircon unit and the window to try and control the temperature.
The bar area was pleasant if a little crowded and the food was variable in quality with some of our party waiting too long for their food to arrive. The pizza oven area was a major success with the children in our party and they enjoyed watching the preparation and cooking of the pizzas but no one in the group enjoyed eating them, the general consensus was that there was not enough sauce.
Breakfast however was great, large tasty portions and so nice not to have the usual buffet service with each order being delivered to the table.
The choice of ales in the bar was restricted too, something that should be essential in an old English Coaching inn with no local choices and only two available.
All in all distinctly average surroundings but warm smiley staff saved it from being a poor experience.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AndyHutch999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakman I, Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Hi AndyHutch999,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you appear to have mixed feelings towards your stay with us. Your comments have been taken on board to be looked into and we do have plans in place to improve the presentation in the bathroom in the near future.
With regards to the food, we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the pizza, we urge our guests to inform us if they are not happy with their meals at the time as we aim to rectify any issues on the spot. We hope you will give us another try in the future.

Kind Regards,
The Blue Boar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Very clean, tidy and appealing room. Great polite service, made to feel very welcome. Lovely design in the rooms and restaurant, the breakfast was amazing as was everything else. Stayed at the front by the street so thought noise may have been a problem but the noise cancelling windows took care of that problem completely. Would definitely recommend and would most definitely stay again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakman I, Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Hi Will B,

Thank you for the lovely review, we're so pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
The Blue Boar Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews