We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Crown Coaching Inn
Nearby Hotels
Sudbury House(Faringdon)
US$ 191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Trout at Tadpole Bridge(Buckland Marsh)(Great Value!)
US$ 159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bell Hotel(Faringdon)
US$ 106
US$ 103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Red Lion(Faringdon)
The Eagle Tavern(Little Coxwell)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horse and Jockey(Stanford in the Vale)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
77
74
54
27
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
74
54
27
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourt roomold buildingroast potatoesseparate showerspacious roomgood nights sleepstayed for one nightspecial occasioncharacterpubcorridorlesleytlcalesrear
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017

This is the best steak and ale pie I've had! Would definitely eat there again. Loved the choice of freshly cooked specials, rather than a standard menu.

You can see the general upkeep of the hotel has been improved on recently and I loved the courtyard.

A hotel and restaurant well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyhols9597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

This was one of our favourite years back. I had read all the bad reviews recently so called in just for a look. It looks so sad and uncared for. Everything, everywhere needs a good spring clean and upgrading. The food looked unloved and lacking finesse. Let's hope the new manager stays and works wonders on this beautiful but unloved old coaching inn.
Next time I am in that area I will visit again and hopefully The Old Crown will be somewhere near its former glory and by next year we can enjoy some good times there again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Booked to stay here for a weekend but only stayed one night and actually got a refund for the second night we didn’t stay. We were in a “twin”room. So small you couldn’t swing a kitten let alone a cat. Window was so dirty we could hardly see out of it. One of the panes of glass was missing and had been replaced by a piece of black cardboard. Room looked down on to the courtyard below were there were tables and benches. The noise from here at night was awful . People talking loudly and causing a nuisance until 2 am. When we complained the next morning we were told “oh yes we had a private party here last night”! I know we got a refund but would rather have had a decent stay and a good nights sleep. Definitely made a big mistake booking this place.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew T, General Manager at Old Crown Coaching Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thank you Jeanette D for your review and we hope that your husband is feeling better after his awful ill night here - it was unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay. We were very happy to give you a refund because of his bad night's sleep and you deciding to leave one day early. We would have been more than happy to look for another room for you if we had have known you were not happy about the room - we are sorry but we did not know at the time. I was on night duty that night and there was no nuisance caused but there were about 5 guests having a friendly party - which I didn't think was that bad. Sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, but we are next door to a late night cocktail bar. Warmest regards from all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Hotel recently under new management, entire hotel requires renovation.
We booked room with four poster as it was special occasion our anniversary and husbands birthday and our holiday to Cuba had just been cancelled due to hurricane.this was last minute booking.
Were we in for a shock. Took two days to get our room we ad booked, they had apparently upgraded a gentleman to our room and put us in a lower grade room
.we did eventually get the room but sadly after our anniversary and birthday had been and gone.
Room 1
The corridor to/outside room would only accommodate 1person at a time ,there were two rooms coming off this corridor, so we had to listen and time exit and entrance to room carefully or there would have been a body jam in corridor.
Room itself I pulled open drawers to put clothes away, handles came off a.husband had to mend those before we began unpacking!
Bathroom , the shower head had nothing to support it on wall so had to be jammed behind water pipe, ok if you haven't got hair.. to get shampoo out of hair one had to squash flats to shower wall ,and carefully rotate squashing ones nose against wall hoping it had been washed from previous occupant, though I wasn't convinced. The toilet had huge block of wood behind cistern to keep it level however the seat wouldn't stay up and had to be held up when toilet was used .. no mean feat !
Behind toilet pipes were made to fit by smashing tiles and poking them through leaving tiles jagged and unsightly.
Hairdryer didn't work,on complaint was told one had been bought however soon found that one hairdryer was for at least two rooms as one in next room didn't exist !!
Wardrobe door didn't stay shut . This room was a nightmare..
Room 2
Stairs leading to rooms is open so pigeons roost there!
Top of stairs well lets just say they ran out of wood when fixing them so left a hole!
Then through locked door to corridor to access rooms unfortunately due to slope on floor there was around a 2inch gap under part of door but hinges fitted well!!
Room this indeed did have a four poster ,we only got the room because the gentleman who had been given the room was asked to move. The shower was smaller but did stay on wall ! No hairdryer so had to get the one bought for other room after spending an evening trying to towel dry hair !
Wallpaper peeling off walls and window frames in dire need of cleaning
Breakfast was ok well not much you can do wrong with bacon sausage frozen hash browns grilled tomato and tinned mushrooms and an egg, though the sausages were black most mornings
The tables weren't cleaned from night before, still had rings on tables from beer glasses
The one evening meal... was sausage onion and potato, this is a market town so why they thought it ok to serve dried mash potato is a mystery.. bought all meals out after that ... gross
No compensation will be given for two nights in disaster zone before being moved a..they don't do that
Beware before booking
They are still using the first room which has few facilities ..

Room Tip: Use another hotel
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lenandcelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew T, Manager at Old Crown Coaching Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Good evening Len and Celia, thank you for your review which is naturally dissappointing considering we all served you to our best ability, you appeared happy at the time except upset that your flights to Cuba were cancelled - we had a good chat and connection with you explaining to you the refurbishment and renovation that is about to happen here - you did not complain during your stay and we enjoyed hearing all about your 5 star adventures in Kenya - we are 3 star. We find some of your comments are unfair and inaccurate compared to what actually happened. You were actually given an upgrade (a much larger room - Double Superior) on arrival by a junior colleague of mine. When you mentioned this to me late at night, we moved you immediately the next morning around 10am to the 4 poster smaller room (this is actually a downgrade) within 12 hours of your arrival and you thanked us. You never mentioned to us that it was a birthday? This is a 16th century inn and yes the corridors are maybe narrow in places, but not where you were located - as my apartment is there also, so I often pass guests in this corridor with luggage. We would have been very happy to mend the drawer if we had known the handle came off. We fixed the shower attachment immediately. We wash all our showers down everyday and I have showered personally in that room several times and it is fantastic shower - we have never had complaints about our showers. All of our rooms have hairdryers and the ones that are attached to the walls are operated by a switch on the wall - this was off in your case and you were given a detached brand new hairdryer. The stairs is one of only 2 exposed staircases from the 16th century in the UK and yes some birds do come there, but we chase them away - the wonderful joys of nature here in the Oxfordshire countryside. The mushrooms are not tinned. Our furniture is antique in character with the Inn, so yes there are a few rings on the tables. Apologies if there were some things left over from the late function the night before. Warmest regards from all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We stayed the weekend of 4/5 August. Maybe the weekends are not representative of your 'normal' service, but we found it distinctly lacking.
The room was clean and comfortable but it was noticeable that you are not concerned about guest safety as there was no fire precaution notice displayed! Illegal? Also no information whatsoever, e.g. meal times, wifi access, getting in late at night etc.
We were not given any information on arrival about meals and late access in particular. Just shown to a room and given a key. All rather casual.
Looked around for the advertised restaurant and on enquiring just received a non-committal reply. No one seen eating so we crossed that off our list. Banner outside says a new menu - what/where?
Breakfast! Let me say straightaway that cooked food was very good - when it arrived! Service was poor/very poor. Guests had to ask for top ups of juice, butter, coffee, cups & saucers etc. Waitress took no interest in the food bar and walked off empty handed when she could have replenished the bar. Kitchen took an absolute age to produce meals - e.g. no food coming out for a good 20 minutes!
Establishment needs a manager, and seven days a week, and staff training. Also a complete make over of premises.
Avoid this establishment.

Room Tip: Avoid hotel
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews