We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One very happy Spaniel!”
Review of The Barley Mow

The Barley Mow
Ranked #3 of 104 Restaurants in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 25
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 5 September 2021

Stopped by the Barley Mow for some post- walk dog with the family and spaniel puppy. The staff were very welcoming and found us a lovely spot in the garden where we there was some shade for our dog. The food came in nice large portions and very tasty, we particularly enjoyed the starter sharing platter and roast beef. During our meal one of the team brought us a large bowl of trimming and gravy for the dog which went down very very well! Lovely team and great food!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank 971freyaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2021

Thank you for giving us 5 stars, Freya! We're so pleased to hear that our team were able to accommodate you and your puppy and we're glad that you enjoyed your sharing platter and roast beef. We hope to welcome you and your family again in the future for another great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 1,333 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2021

Who knows what it was like, telephone enquiry was a waste of time, waited for two days for e-mail conformation of online booking(Still waiting) so went somewhere else, received a request for "How did we do" three days later, absolute joke.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AyB122
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2021

We're very sorry to read this review as it seems as if there was an issue with our booking system and the level of service you received as a result isn't acceptable. We will be sure to make a note of your comments for future consideration. If you would like to pick this up with us directly, please feel welcome to email us at 6105@greeneking.co.uk. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2021

We were let down by a local pub and booked at last minute .my wife had the chef special . She was disappointed when it arrived asparagus ,courgette cold and raw the patato tasted strange as if it has been reheated . The asparagus and courgette was sent back and replaced without a fuss .The potato was not eaten and left . My meal was very nice the manger gave us a reduction in the bill .the staff were helpful and polite in conclusion running a restaurant in the present climate provides many challenges .we have use this pub for 20 years and have been happy with the food and service this is not typical of the past standard .we will return soon

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2021

Hi Peter, we are sorry that your wife's meal wasn't up to our usual standard but are glad that it was rectified and you were happy with the resolution. We will pass on your feedback to the team and hope to see you again soon to see the improvements. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2021 via mobile

Superb service, quality and quantity of food. Huge varied menu. Beautiful pub steeped in history and atmosphere. A definite must!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank JCOCKREM3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review The Barley Mow, Clifton Hampden. It is great to read that you had superb service and the quality and quantity of food was amazing. We have an absolutely lovely establishment, which we are proud of, and thank you for your kind comment. We hope to see us again very soon so that we can show you more of our excellent food and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2021 via mobile

Myself & fiancé was staying a 5 min walk away from here, so was our first choice to visit.
Absolutely stunning to look at. Such a lovely pub.
Was greeted by very happy, friendly staff that was very attentive throughout.
Food was great. Such a varied menu.
Was that good we came back the next day to enjoy more great food & drink. Thank you for making our stay in Abingdon even better.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Njudkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review The Barley Mow, Clifton Hampden. It is such a pleasure to read that you and your fiance was staying a 5 min walk away from us and chose to eat here on both days! We have an excellent Front of House Team here who are always very attentive and friendly as they all love working here at The Barley Mow, and the Management are so pleased to have such a wonderful Team. We hope that you could one day return to see us again very soon so that we can show you more of our excellent food and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Barley Mow also viewed

Abingdon, Oxfordshire
Abingdon, Oxfordshire
 
Sandford-on-Thames, Oxford
Abingdon, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Barley Mow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.