We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely 1 night break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pheasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Stannersburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely 1 night break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I have just returned home after a lovely night at the Pheasant Inn. I stayed with my Mam in one of the twin rooms, which was lovely and cozy, and decorated to the highest standard. Both evening meal and breakfast were delicious, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I
would recommend the Pheasant Inn to anyone. a great base for exploring beautiful Northumberland.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morag L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    88
    25
    13
    6
See reviews for
71
316
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed at the Pheasant for a special anniversary,the accomodation was clean & good quality.The evening meals were excellant featuring local dishes,the log fires & real ale added to the friendly atmosphere, staff were professional very helpful.We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Stayed with some friends at the Pheasant for one night - wish it had been two! A gorgeous little place, immaculate and cosy bedrooms, wonderful beds and the best stocked tea tray I have ever seen !!

Dinner was lovely, in a warm and friendly setting in the beautiful bar area. I was wishing we weren't going out to the Kielder Observatory that night, because I'd have happily sat next to those real fires, chatting and sipping the delicious house vino for the rest of the evening!

Breakfast the next day was absolutely first class. A total gem of a place. Generous with the heating on a cold night and all the extra special touches which make a place a real pleasure to visit.

HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobykizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stopped for lunch and really enjoyed it. The menu was extensive and varied. We both had meals that included salads and it was these that stole the show. They were packed full of fruit and veg, I have only ever had salads with more in at home, no limp lettuce and soggy tomatoes or peppers here. I am sure other dishes would be good based on the fact that the pub was busy and there were obviously local people there.What a shame we live too far away.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flowerpot89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We visited recently for a family birthday.
This was one of the best birthdays we have had.
The staff were so helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble, and the food produced was second to none.
We had family from all over the country, aged from 2 years to 90 years old.
This is one of the best Pubs we have ever visited, and we will return soon. As will the family, most of whom had never been to the area before.
The rooms are clean and comfortable, and lovely and warm. Easy to get hot water whenever you wish - just ask if it is a time when normally not hot, and the log fire in the bar is so lovely that it makes you want to just sit beside it and have a drink and a chat.
A brilliant time was had by all.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jvmerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stannersburn
22.0 km away
Grapes Hotel
Grapes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
22.7 km away
Battlesteads Hotel
16.3 km away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.2 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
6.0 km away
Falstone Barns
Falstone Barns
#5 of 21 in Hexham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
21.4 km away
Black Burn Lodge B & B
Black Burn Lodge B & B
#3 of 5 in Newcastleton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Property: The Pheasant Inn
Address: Stannersburn NE48 1DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Stannersburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stannersburn
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,659 - ₹ 8,986
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pheasant Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 16th-century country inn has exposed stone walls, original beams, low ceilings and open fires. Run by the Kershaws since 1985, the inn was originally a farmhouse and has been refurbished to a very high standard. Using only the finest and freshest locally sourced produce and ingredients some of the house specialties to savour are simply cooked fresh fish, game and mushroom pie and slow roasted Northumbrian lamb. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pheasant Hotel Stannersburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing