We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Megstone House(Seahouses)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gun Rock(Seahouses)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Springwood(Seahouses)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ugiebrae House(Seahouses)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Farne Island B&B(Seahouses)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
240
20
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
240
20
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjoan and andrewfarne islandsfamily kitchenlovely friendly peopleb and bserenity boatserenity iitumble dryerroom was spacious and cleanfull english breakfastattending a weddingboat tripmin walka great place to staybreakfast was excellentquiet locationcooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 262 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed for one night in a twin room. The room was spacious with comfy beds and clean bathroom. Nice easy walk to town. Well done to Joan for single-handedly cooking delicious breakfasts for all the guests, she and her family are wonderful hosts!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan D, Owner at The Olde School House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you for the lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

We ( myself and 2 kids ) stayed at “the Olde School House” in Seahouses, in order to spend time on the Northumbria Coast -Lindisfarne, Bamburgh and Seahouses were our favourite places so far. But we plan to go back as soon as possible because we didn’t get to see everywhere we had hoped to.
But what made this visit even more special was the wonderful B&B ,
namely “ The Olde School House “ in Seahouses where we stayed. It was excellent. Beautiful clean warm rooms, great breakfast, friendly, helpful and kind owners, great base to explore from. Definitely planning to go back. Would highly recommend “The Olde School House” and this scenic part of Northumberland.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan D, Owner at The Olde School House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you for the lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

Just back from another great couple of days stay with Joan, Andrew, Charlie and Archie. Such lovely friendly people and a great family atmosphere as always. The rooms at The Olde School House are really attractive, comfy and especially clean. Joan has these rooms immaculate on your arrival and never once has there been a cleanliness issue. We have stayed with Andrew and Joan on a few occasions now so slept in a few different rooms and can honestly say that each and every bed is a pleasure to sleep in due to the high quality mattresses. Joan's breakfast is just delicious and the best start to a full on day. There's a great selection on the menu and never scrimps on things. During our stay we were lucky enough to be able to visit the Inner Farnes at this time of the year, using Andrews family run business 'Serenty Boat Tours' We always use Serenity Boats at Summertime when the puffins are on the islands, so always stick with this passionate team who look after us well and who are passionate about their conservation and making people feel at ease. So a must if you are in the area. The views from the boat over to Bamburgh Castle are truly awesome! The beaches in the area are outstanding and not to mention the odd stunning castles! The people and businesses in the area very friendly so what more could you ask for when you are looking forward to a break away. Massive thumbs up for this family !! :)

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan D, Owner at The Olde School House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

It is always lovely to see you both. We love your enthusiasm for wildlife and Northumberland. Hopefully,we'll see you over the summer months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

Been a few times and always, always get a good nights sleep in the B&B, so comfortable and plenty of room. Loved the look of the en suite with new shower and tiling recently upgraded too. Always smells fresh and is spotlessly clean. Coffee , tea and biscuits in room too and refilled daily.
Joan always goes the extra mile to help and chat to you about your day or help with local knowledge - she always has time for you even with a full house and 2 very pleasant well mannered children.The breakfasts are just so good with plenty on the plate - you go away feeling very full.

Room Tip: Tr yto get one or even 2 nights - it does get busy so plan ahead. Try going when the Puffin season starts (May- June)
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Southerdeners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan D, Owner at The Olde School House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thank you, so much for the lovely review. it was great to see you both again and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Best regards
Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Joan was very welcoming and cooks a quality breakfast, both herself and Andrew are very friendly, couldn't help enough with local info and recommended the local pizza restaurant which was spot on.

The room we stayed in was an en-suite twin room, it was clean and tidy and the beds were comfortable. Must say it was nice to have a good hot shower after braving the February winds after our walk to Bamburgh castle and back. Must also add that the locals were very friendly and nearly everyone that we passed said hello.

Will definitely go again in summer.

Steve and Mandy - Wakefield/Malton.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank _silverowl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan D, Owner at The Olde School House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thank you, so much for the lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will make it back to have a trip with Andrew on Serenity. hopefully, it will be a bit warmer.
Regards
Joan and Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews