We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“IDYLLIC”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Granary taken from the pond/decking
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The Granary taken from the pond/decking
view from the kitchen
summer in the garden
The Granary
cosy living room with jumbo sofa
En suite shower room
double/twin bedroom with zip and link bed
sit and watch the world and stars go by or sleep in here during summer months
swallows perched within a few feet of the kitchen window
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Otterburn, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lawrence...
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“IDYLLIC”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Granary Cottage is truly wonderful, a really lovely place to stay. Quiet, peaceful, fantastic extensive views, away from it all. The cottage is spacious, nicely furnished, comfortable, convenient and scrupulously clean. Situated on a working farm. The owner Kate lives on the farm and was very welcoming, friendly and helpful but by no means intrusive. I can't recommend it highly enough. We wished we could have stayed longer. It was a lovely holiday and we hope to go back one day. I cannot imagine anyone being disappointed with this lovely holiday cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xarfon
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Northumberland”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We were looking for a place to stay for our first visit to Northumberland and we found and The Granary through Owners Direct. We thought the cottage looked nice on the web and when we arrived we were not disappointed.

The cottage has been refurbished to a high modern standard and has the living room/kitchen diner upstairs. We sat in the kitchen diner for the most part taking full advantage of the wonderful views of the surrounding countryside.

The Granary is comfortable and well appointed with all you need for a relaxing stay. We only stayed for a few days and didn't have the time to sit out, we wished we had time to use the wonderful summer house, but that will have to wait for next time.

Kate was great giving us a warm welcome, making sure we were comfortable and providing nice cheese scones for us upon arrival.

There are so many things to do in the area, we visited Alnwick Castle, Wallington Hall, Woodhorn Colliery & Museum (County Archives are there), Hadrian's Wall - Sycamore Gap and had a quick drive into Scotland returning via Kielder Water, phew an energetic few days!

We will definitely return to The Granary when we next visit Northumberland. Thank you Kate!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Stunning views of Northumberland
Liked least: All great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dr_oscrby
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just the ticket for rest and relaxation”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We booked our weekend at the Granary on fairly short notice and we were very happy that we had. The Granary provided us with the peace and quiet that we were looking for as well as offering gorgeous views across rolling countryside hills. Kate [the owner] is very nice and lets you get on with your stay but is available should you need advice on anything. The garden is very well appointed and has the added benefit of an excellent sun-room complete with en-suite facilities. Old Town Farm itself is nicely located for exploring rural Northumberland with the majority of interesting towns and attractions radiating out within a 30-40 minute drive. We will definitely be returning when we can [maybe to try out one of the other cottages on the farm] and would happily recommend the Granary to our friends and family. Thanks Kate for a lovely weekend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This apartment is very quirky, upside down house (bedrooms on the ground floor living are on 1st floor) that has lots of charm and character.
Views to die for, so peaceful, bleating of lambs in the fields , birds in the trees. It simply is a place to relax and get away from the stresses and strains of life.
Then there is the huge bonus...it's located in a Dark skies area, simply, watch a thousand stars on a clear night, it is truly an experience that you will never forget, quite amazing. There is a hut besides the apartment and is a fantastic place to cuddle up with your loved one, relax and take in a wonderful view.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liswright
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful welcoming stay”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed in The Granary Easter week. We were thoroughly spoilt by fantastic weather and great accommodation, we loved the quirky upside down layout of the well equipped cottage (including big bath towels which scored major brownie points!).
We also liked being near the working farm - especially as it was lambing season
Would definitely recommend The Granary and will book again in the future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall stay was great
Liked least: Distance from major supermarkets!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing