We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service in a nice B&B”

Stepping Stones Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stepping Stones Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 29 Morpeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Ok let's get the bad out of the way to allow for the good. The room was pleasant, the mattress was worn and badly in need of changing. The bathroom was ok, with a recent issue with the guttering causing damp to show in the walls. This was mentioned initially with a sincere apology, but no comment was made to adjust the price of the room despite this.

The bedroom doors were not soft closing, meaning any inconsiderate guests (and there were a few) would alow the doors to simply bang shut, disturbing any sleep you may be having.

These issues aside, which are relatively easy fixes and were thankfully outweight by a great location. Having lived in Morpeth before, I knew the area with the B&B situated just out of the centre, but close enough for a nice gentle stroll down into the town, for a look around the shops.

In addition, the welcome from the owners was warm and very friendly, exactly what Morpeth is all about. Whilst I didn't require any local assistance, I'm quite sure plenty would have been on hand if required.

Breakfast in the morning was well cooked and plentiful, with any variations on the menu considered.

I'd certainly consider staying here on any trip back again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ProudScotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2016

Great place to stay in a good location just a short walk from the centre.The room was spotlessly clean, with a nice en-suite. The view out of the bedroom window is of the river and the park, lovely. The breakfast could not be faulted with good choice of everything. Even though the weather outside was quite warm, there is a heavy duty winter duvet on the bed, Just a little unconfortable trying to sleep under it. Just a couple of very minor issues. The window of the bedroom is desperately in need of a either replacing or at most filling and repainting, The only other thing Eric could really have done with a shave before serving breakfast.Would have given 5 stars if not for the minor issues.

Room Tip: Room 1 nice and quiet at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed there last night & it's a fantastic & perhaps one of the best run bed & breakfasts we have stayed in. We arrived pretty late as per our ETA & on pulling up to the accommodation saw Keith keeping an eye out at the doorway for us. He made us a pot of decaffinated coffee with biscuits after showing us our room. The room was spacious and clean as was the ensuite bathroom. They was tea & coffee in the room. Julie & Keith had prepared us a lovely cooked breakfast the next morning. There was also fruit, cereal & yogurt also available. There is free wifi & parking available (via permit) outside. The B&B is only a few minutes away from the famous "stepping stones."

Stayed: August 2016
Thank uklarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

As most reviews have commented the friendly hosts are there when you arrive. A large pot of tea with cake and biscuits was in my room by the time I came back from my car to put the parking permit on it. What a great start.

Parking is an issue, there are marked bay areas town side of the property if you can grab one there do, but get a permit from the B&B there are no time constraints. Otherwise the yellow line outside allows you parking between certain times. There is a disc parking system in Morpeth this allows you 3 hrs parking you just need to display a disability type disc with your arrival time.

The B&B is ideally situated about a 5 min stroll to the main Bridge Street shops. Plenty of shops, bars and restaurants.

The house is lovely and old, large room where breakfast is served, then up to my room. I had room 3 it overlooked the street. It was large and bright nicely decorated and with everything I needed. There was a double and single bed in this room, spotlessly clean and modern. Great wardrobe with hanging space, plenty of hangers and a shelf section full length at the side. Tea and coffee makings. TV and it was a good size tv. WiFi which was excellent and free.
The room had high ceilings giving a great airy bright feeling.

The bathroom had a bath and good shower. The bathroom light because it's so high up didn't light the bathroom brilliantly but there was a shaving/cosmetic light over the mirror and that did just the job. Toilettries in little bottles and large bottles. Everything was perfect.

I had a good night sleep the bed was comfortable.

Breakfast served in downstairs room, I was asked what I wanted when I arrived. It was freshly cooked and very tasty no grease at all. A jug of orange juice was on your table and large pot of tea was ordered. Fruit and yoghurt also available. Excellent breakfast.

I would definitely stay here again. Once you get past the parking issue you can relax and chill.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
Thank Bootrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

The five nights we stayed at Julie & Eric`s B & B was just so warm, comfortable and beyond the normal B & B reception. We were met by Julie & Eric - they took our cases in, made us tea & coffee & provided us with the street parking pass. Breakfast - "Northumberland Special" - was outstanding - fresh fruit/full breakfast - set us up for the day!! Clean bedding & towels every day - nothing was too much trouble. The recommendation to eat at the Sour Grapes - just over the road - proved to be good - owned by Sue - again -great value & so happy to serve!!
We have stayed in many B & B`s/Hotels - this one is well up the list as 5*.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank claude_smart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morpeth hotels
0 km away
Riverside Guest House
Riverside Guest House
#7 of 29 in Morpeth
118 reviews
15.1 km away
Northumberland Cottage
Northumberland Cottage
#5 of 29 in Morpeth
133 reviews
0.5 km away
The Morpeth Inn
The Morpeth Inn
#6 of 29 in Morpeth
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 km away
The Northumberland Arms
The Northumberland Arms
#2 of 29 in Morpeth
202 reviews
0.3 km away
Newminster Cottage Bed and Breakfast
11.3 km away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stepping Stones Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stepping Stones Bed & Breakfast

Address: 75 Newgate Street, Morpeth NE61 1BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Morpeth
Price Range: ₹ 5,532 - ₹ 6,483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stepping Stones Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stepping Stones Bed & Breakfast Morpeth, Northumberland, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing