We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great family home for a holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rothley Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Morpeth, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tony D
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family home for a holiday”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were celebrating birthdays and home coming, all of our children and grandchildren had a fantastic holiday, we had some sunny days and we had some wet days, but we had smiles everyday.

As we were told the sat nav would not get you to the gate, but we found rothley lodge after. A drive around the countryside, it feels a bit remote but you get to accept the peace and quite of the countryside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The dinning room
Liked least: The lack of able to open windows
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaynem565
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely property in beautiful and tranquil setting.”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The house is immaculate and the garden a lovely place to be with woods going down to the river. The kitchen is very well stocked with every bit of equipment one could possibly need. There was a bit of a glitch with the heating system whilst we were there but we managed to sort it out. The only criticism we have is that we were advised not to use the Roman blinds in the bedrooms. We weren't quite sure why given they seemed to in working order and because we stayed at the property in mid June, would have been useful due to the very light mornings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting.
Liked least: Not being able to use the bedroom blinds.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Beautiful property. Immaculate and well equipped. Friendly and welcoming owners. Tasteful décor. Peaceful location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space for our extended family.
Liked least: No curtains meant difficulty in getting children to sleep.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison740
Yarm-on-Tees England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful House and grounds”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Have just returned from a fabulous weekend at Rothley Lodge enjoyed by three generations of our family. The house is tastefully decorated with all mod cons and the gardens beautiful (even in February). We especially enjoyed the log fire and the fresh eggs supplied by the owners. I would love to stay here again and would recommend it to those wanting a luxury get away!! Word of warning, don't rely on a Sat-nav, read instructions given on website!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Real fire
Liked least: Lack of signpost from road
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BilboCox
London
1 review
“Simply wonderful...”
Reviewed 26 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed here for a family celebration in late November which the house was perfect for. Damian and Lorraine couldn't have been more lovely. They prepared everything for our arrival including decorating the house subtly for Christmas. There was freshly laid eggs in the kitchen from their chickens, and the house was toasty. The house was wonderful for a special get together and I couldn't recommend it or them highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful house in stunning setting
Liked least: Not a thing...
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing