We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect family get away”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Goat Barn

Open plan lounge with wood burner
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan lounge with wood burner
Large open plan kitchen to seat 11 Island with bar stools
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
43 reviews
Open plan lounge with wood burner
Large open plan kitchen to seat 11
Island with bar stools
Kitchen table extends to seat 8
Stunning open plan living area
Secure & private patio area with BBQ
Patio and BBQ area
Hall with exposed stonework
Main bathroom
Main bathroom.Relaxing bath !
Main bathroom with walk in shower
Twin bedroom
Double bedroom
Master bedroom with king size bed
Master bedroom with en suite and cot
4 bunk beds in room adjoining master bedroom
Front of Goat Barn
One of many rescued resident goats that can be fed
Rescued resident fox at The Sanctuary- however cannot be viewed due to licensing restrictions
Tawny owls  in care at The Sanctuary- but cannot be viewed due to licensing restrictions
View from master bedroom
Rescued ponies& goats at the Sanctuary that visitors can meet and feed.
Shared children's play garden.Some equipment removed due to H&S.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Longhirst, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kerry L
1 review
“Perfect family get away”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Perfect family get away, especially for animal lovers. We all really enjoyed waking up in the morning and heading out to go see the animals. It's a truly unique setting for a holiday let which you couldn't find anywhere else. Very helpful owners who went the extra mile to make us feel at home including dropping off free pumpkins for Halloween for the kids. Barn was very comfy, nice kitchen and great showers. All round lovely holiday :)

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy H
1 review
“Beautiful place and excellent value. Very helpful and kind owners.”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Idyllic location amongst interesting animals and lovely countryside, blackberries included!Lovely big house, clean and well furnished [all new), and very helpful and thoughtful owners nearby, discreet and informative. Great beaches nearby and sunday market. Definitely recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A wonderful place for all ages”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a magical 3 days in this lovely property. The children were in seventh heaven with access to all the animals in the sanctuary and the children's playground with its swings and slides etc. The kitchen and living area were spacious and easily accommodated the 9 people in our party. The owners were near at hand and really nice and helpful. The nearest beaches were an amazing stretch of golden sands. All in all we had a wonderful break which everybody thoroughly enjoyed and we returned home tired but very happy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the setting (and the showers !!)
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loraine F
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for family holidays”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We really enjoyed our short break at Goat Barn. The accommodation suited our family very well and provided everything we needed, except for a washing machine, although the owner allowed us to use the washing machine in the nearby Donkey Barn as this was vacant at the time of our stay. Having the playground outside and of course the animals in the sanctuary, meant there was plenty for the three young children to do.

We are likely to return there in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: Lack of a washing machine
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Np2854
1 review
“Lovely accommodation a unique setting”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the wonderful Goat Barn. The barn was very comfortable, the kitchen / dining room and living room were lovely and spacious. It is clear a lot of care has gone into the renovation.
The location is remote and peaceful; 30 minutes from Newcastle, 30 minutes to the coast and 1 hour to Hadrians Wall.
We all enjoyed our early eveving stroll through the Sanctuary to feed the goats some ginger biscuits!
Being close to the owls and foxes was a weekend we won't forget in a hurry. A lovely time had by all.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing