We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Backhill Bothy

View from the Bothy deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the Bothy deck
Bothy wing before conversion, the other 3 wings and courtyard form the owner's house the Bothy with its raised sun deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
View from the Bothy deck
Bothy wing before conversion, the other 3 wings and courtyard form the owner's house
the Bothy with its raised sun deck
Lounge area in daylight
Lounge area in the evening
There is plenty of space!
Kitchen in daylight
Kitchen in the evening
Why not invite friends to supper?
View for the dishwasher!
Bedroom can be either twin beds or 1 superking double
Bedroom
Shower room with walk-in deluge shower and demister mirror
Garden room
View out from Garden room
View out from Garden room towards Holy Island
Autumn view from deck towards Cocklawburn beach
Autumn view from deck
All you need for a picnic, just provide your own food and wine!
Double dog kennel adjacent to Bothy for exclusive use of your dogs
Our nearest beach at Cocklawburn looking towards Berwick
Our nearest beach at Cocklawburn looking towards Holy Island
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Harriett...
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Beautiful accommodation, not to be faulted. The photos do not do it justice. Lovely welcome from the owners. Immaculate place with stunning views. Had a wonderful time. Thank you we will definatley be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2015
... and we will definitely look forward to welcoming you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JarrarPee...
Peeblesshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best of everything”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at Backhill Bothy for a special celebration and it more than lived up to expectations. The hosts have thought of everything and more. It was spacious, comfortable and luxurious. The location is perfect for exploring this beautiful area we just wished we could have stayed longer. The bonus is being able to take your dog. The hosts are so friendly and welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. We have recommended it to many of our friends and cannot wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2015
We are so pleased your special celebration went well and would be delighted to welcome you back again, when hopefully you can enjoy a longer stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartAnn...
Nantwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We can only endorse the comments in the first review. John and Trish have thought of everything to make for a perfect stay. The huge and comfortable bed and the luxury bathroom deserve a special mention.
Trip highlight was a trip to the Farne Islands. ( 50,000 puffins can't be wrong!) Also don't miss the pub at Low Newton for a great pint and a crab sandwich.

Stuart and Anne Moulton.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for the "perfect" review! We have aimed to provide the level of comfort we look for on holiday so we're very pleased you enjoyed yourselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillandSa...
Lincolnshire, England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb - cannot rate it too highly”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We give this a definite 5 star rating in all respects. The conversion of the bothy has been extremely well thought out and executed with the highest quality, with little added touches that put it well into the top rank of holiday cottages (such as the lead crystal glasses you can use for that romantic evening in, and the binoculars in the top room so you can watch the birds and wildlife from the comfort of the sofa). The raised decking gives wonderful views across the fields to the coast, and is a great place to watch the hares and deer in the early morning. It is very dog-friendly with an off-lead walk right outside the door. The owners live close by and couldn't be friendlier or more helpful, and can supply information on the best places to park so you can walk your dogs along the banks of the Tweed. We found the cottage ideally positioned for two little used beaches near Berwick, anything you would reach via the A1 (on both sides of the border), and places further to the West that we'd never gone to on previous visits to Northumberland. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would strongly recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quietly watching the countryside from the top room and raised decking
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2015
We couldn't have asked for a better review from our first guests in the Bothy - thank you so much. It's great to know that we are providing what is wanted and that you had a wonderful holiday. See you again in the future we hope.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing