We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic experience in a lovely part of the country” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pot-a-Doodle-Do

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pot-a-Doodle-Do
Certificate of Excellence
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic experience in a lovely part of the country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Six ladies went for my fortieth birthday weekend. We stayed in a yurt which was lovely and clean. Shower and toilet blocks are also clean. We hired the BBQ house for a party on Saturday. Staff are lovely and friendly. Would definitely go back again. Lovely walks and not too far from Berwick

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jnowlin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    82
    21
    11
    11
See reviews for
179
88
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

My Husband and I went for a one night stay at the wigwam village with our crazy doggy. Had a really lovely time.

I would suggest it as a fun one or two night stay for a couple or group of people. We thought it would be a lovely opportunity to spend proper time together with no other outside interruptions. And it was just that. We took the dog for a lovely walk when we got there and then we had packed up a little picnic of goodies and wine to enjoy when we got back as we already knew the restaurant closed at 5pm which I think is a shame. I think they would do a roaring trade with campers wanting an evening meal or just a couple of drinks. Although, if you wished to make food yourself, there was a very well equipped kitchen area with everything you could possibly need and all very clean.

We were planning on taking scrabble but I forgot to take it, so we went to the little gift shop and bought some cards and dominos. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were told to go to the kitchen area to purchase a meter card for £1 before making our way to the wigwam. I would recommend going to your wigwam first because after we had made our purchase, we went into our little house for the night to find there was still over £3 credit on the meter.....so you may even get away with not having a buy a card!! The credit is extremely generous as the heating and lighting and fridge used less than £1 for all afternoon and evening. The wigwams are so very cosy. It was a cold and windy night when we stayed, but we were very very cosy indeed. In fact we had to turn the heating off in the night as it got too hot!!

The shower areas were spotlessly clean and the toilets very well stocked with toilet roll, hand wash and paper hand towels. The lights and heaters come on with a sensor action which I thought was an excellent idea, although, in the night, the lights were on all the time.

The only thing (which we did happen to take) but one may forget is a torch. It was extremely dark at night - to find your way to the toilet and also to pick up doggy poop so bear that in mind.

The wigwams are very very simple but a very fun way to camp. Enjoy! (and don't forget your torch and scrabble)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank looby193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

My daughter and i had a fantastic 2 night stay at Pot-a-doodle-doo. Very friendly and helpful on arrival and thereafter. Weather doesn't matter when you've got a wooden wigwam to stay in, with electricity and fridge. Lovely breakfasts in the restaurant to start the day then off for a day on a great beach, wetsuited up the sea and rock pools were our play ground, shame it was so flat calm, boogie boards stayed in the bag. Lovely to be able to go back to the site and have excellent shower facilities and the comfort of our wigwam 'Niagra' to welcome us. I was surprised at how warm and pretty well sound proofed the wigwams are, we played our music at a good level and when we tested the volume from outside you could not hear it, which is good for the neighbours. For me as the packer and tent putter awayer, what a bonus it was, despite the torrential rain, to be able to load up the car and not have to worry about putting away a wet tent. We will always camp but are now wigwam converts. I would, and have already done so, recommend this site to others and will definately be coming back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghMandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

The people that own and run this site really need a course of customer service/customer care and if they dislike customers so much perhaps they should find another business to run!

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank Daveygrohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
njw123, Owner at Pot-a-Doodle-Do, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
I am sorry that someone has felt the need to write this report. We always try to give our customers the best service we can and have people who come back to see us year on year. We feel that customer service is very important both through ourselves and our staff and can only apologise if anyone has been offended in any way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

I stayed for 2 nights in July with my 10yr old grandson. Despite the weather we had a great time. My grandson particularly enjoyed toasting marshmallows over the "open" campfire. A clean well tended site and ideal for families. I particularly liked the family shower rooms - ideal if you have young children. There is a small shop and a restaurant on site but they close early and the shop doesn't stock essential items like bread - it's more of a gift shop!

A good experience and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marmaladeblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berwick-upon-Tweed
7.9 km away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
22.1 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
30.6 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.5 km away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
3.6 km away
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
The Walls Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 51 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
6.5 km away
Haggerston Castle Holiday Park - Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pot-a-Doodle-Do? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pot-a-Doodle-Do

Property: Pot-a-Doodle-Do
Address: Borewell Farm | Scremerston, Berwick-upon-Tweed TD15 2RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Berwick-upon-Tweed
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Berwick-upon-Tweed
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying in a purpose built wigwam is a fun, different and comfortable alternative to a traditional camping holiday. Situated on a working farm just two miles from Berwick upon Tweed our wigwam village is ideal for families and groups. There are many facilities on site as well as being accessible to some of the regions top tourist attractions. There is access to many wonderful walks from the wigwam village in some lovely countryside and beaches.We have 26 wooden wigwams, two of which have ensuite facilities, and we also have three canvas yurts. Onsite facilities include Shower and toilet block, fully equipped kitchen, bbq huts to hire,Licensed cafe Bistro, Licensed Country shop, Country and Coastal Walks,Interactive Art Centre,Fishing and Childrens Play Area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pot-a-Doodle-Do Hotel Berwick Upon Tweed

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing