We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A cosy and comfortable holiday cottage break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bluebell Cottage

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
External image of cottages Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Living Room
External image of cottages
Kitchen
Twin bedroom
Master Bedroom
Bathroom
Feeding the Llamas
Feeding the Llamas
Harvest Time
Sheep at lambing time
Feeding the Llamas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bilpop
2 reviews
“A cosy and comfortable holiday cottage break”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

As a family of four we spent a great week at Bluebell Cottage. Well situated 5 minutes from Berwick, with the coast and Scottish borders on the doorstep. The cottage was well furnished and very comfortable. An open fire in the lounge was a particular treat. The kitchen had all one could expect. The only improvement would be a better wifi connection, but being on holiday it wasn't a bad thing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
douglas15
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A perfect base for a holiday”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Another perfect stay at Bluebell for a great week in and around Berwick. Its been a while since we stayed here but we were not disappointed with the cottage. From the warm welcome from Robert, with freshly made scones and cake, to his superbly equipped cottage. The setting is a delight and very peaceful.
At the days end a nice coal fire to relax in front of while unwinding after a busy day exploring the local sights. What more could you ask for.
A fantastic base for a holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bee E
Lowestoft, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

On arrival we were delighted to find fresh scones and cake laid out in the well equipped kitchen/diner and a welcoming coal fire burning in the sitting room. The holiday cottage is immaculately clean and beautifully furnished throughout. The two bedrooms are very spacious and the beds are all extremely comfortable with high quality duvets and linen.
The owner, Robert, was really friendly and was more than happy to let my son feed the llamas and chickens on the farm.
The cottage has glorious views over open countryside and feels wonderfully quiet and peaceful, yet is only a short drive away from the town of Berwick upon Tweed, and tourist attractions such as Bamburgh Castle, Paxton House and Holy Island.
We had a fantastic week and will definitely be returning to West Longridge in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was all good!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2timbos
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“wonderful week.”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Had a fabulous time in the cottage. lovely cosy place, tastfully decorated and fantastically equiped. we wanted for nothing.
Great place to explore from, easy access to the whole region.Fantastic location.
Would definatly go back.
On top of all that Robert is a top chap.
He made my wife a cake for her birthday, it was fantastic. I was gobsmacked.
great place great guy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quality and comfort.
Liked least: having to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FerdFarkl...
Cambridge, England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We came back”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We spent a lovely week here last September and enjoyed both the cottage and the area so much that we came back again this May. Robert, the owner, takes great pride in his cottages so they are spotlessly clean, very well equipped (including a superabundance of television sets) and there were home-baked treats when we arrived. Bluebell Cottage is the second cottage in a short terrace of converted farm-workers' cottages but the sound insulation is very good so we never heard our neighbours. These cottages are at a distance from other farm buildings with parking and communal garden at the front and individual patios with table and chairs then views across open fields to the rear. In Bluebell Cottage there are two bedrooms upstairs, downstairs is the bathroom, kitchen and lounge. The only amenity I missed (although it is a mixed blessing) was internet access. All-in-all, we had a really comfortable stay which was excellent value for money. We are already looking at our diaries to see when we can return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home-from-home comfort
Liked least: Bit of a trek to the bathroom if you get up in the night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 140
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing