We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good central Alnwick location, spacious house”
other travellers have booked this property
Alnwick House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Alnwick House
Dining Room / Second Lounge Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Alnwick House
Dining Room / Second Lounge
Master Bedroom
Alnwick Castle & Lion's Bridge
ground floor sitting room
Dining room/second lounge
local walk in Alnwick by the castle
Kitchen
new kitchen 2017
Twin Bedroom
Table football
pool table in the games room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
YorkBeadb...
York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good central Alnwick location, spacious house”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This is a lovely family property which is literally two minutes walk from Alnwick centre. Inside the rooms are spacious and bright and the house is well equipped (for example there are reading lights on the bunk beds). Good man cave in the basement with a pool table and table football and an x-box is provided along with many games and puzzles to entertain the kids. There are two sitting rooms allowing a haven for grown ups and a playroom for the kids. Good location for taking a walk down by the river opposite the castle, very pretty. Can recommend the local Indian Mivesi, very well priced and delicious! We were two couples, one of which had two children. A very enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious rooms
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil19531...
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Location for Alnwick Town”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the house from August 17 through to 8th October whilst we waited for our new home in Alnwick to be completed. The house is over four floors including a basement games room, it offers a great stay for large families aswell as couples, and has everything you could need including two lounge areas. The property is well decorated and clean, and is located only a short walk from Alnwick town centre. Having stayed there so long it was almost beginning to feel like we'd moved in!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Map_woman...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely house and great location”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A very very spacious house with lovely views across the old part of town and to the green hills beyond. Well equipped with everything we would need and more and well-decorated Very comfy sofas in the downstairs lounge, perfect for watching a film in the evenings. Plenty to do in Alnwick, we only used the car two days, no problem parking on Percy Street or round the corner. The yard was fine for drying the washing, and there was a bench, but not really suitable for small children to play out if it had been warm, though we discovered a nice play area 5 mins away (behind the police station). Very helpful owner, the wifi wasn't working when we arrived, he got it fixed the next working day. A stool was provided for opening velux windows on the top floor, so steam not a problem. We had a fantastic, relaxing week, would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious feel and the location
Liked least: The kitchen
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave B
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Feel let down.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I had high expectations for this house, all of the reviews were good, pictures looked good and with a pool table, football table and internet knew the boys would be happy.
Imagine our disappointment when we got there to find the internet wasn't working,this had been mentioned by the previous renters who had wrote it down in the book of thing to fix, we rang the owner, who was abroad and he said he would do what he could from his end to fix it, not a problem we thought, if he was going to fix it. The boys then went to play on the pool table and football table in the cellar, the smell of damp as we went downstairs was very, very strong, not a problem we can get used to that, its a cellar we thought. The boys then tried to play pool, it was so warped it was unplayable, the same as the football table. No point playing on so they came back upstairs.
Needless to say the internet was not fixed in the week we stayed, not a problem during the day but at night when the boys wanted to watch Netflix they couldn't. We had searched for somewhere to stay with internet access and happily paid extra for use of the internet, pool table and football table, we did not get this and feel very let down.
The Alnwick gardens and castle were fantastic and Alnwick town centre is a nice place to walk about.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the rooms
Liked least: no internet and pool table warped so unplayable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2014
We are very sorry you feel let down. We were abroad at the time concerns were raised with us, and whilst we did our best to repair the internet at the time (the fault was due to an issue with the BT Exchange), this proved impossible.

Our contact details are provided to all guests so that in the unlikely event there are problems, we can take steps to resolve these.

We are grateful for the feedback which will help us work to continually improve the property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissFear
Brighouse
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We absolutely loved this property. Big airy rooms, comfortable beds and super close to everything in the town. The property had the basics provided, tea, coffee, milk and wine (sloo!). The towels and sheets all seemed brand new and everything was spotless! There was an Xbox 360 and plenty of games provided, as well as board games, books and of course the pool table and table football in the cellar, so should it rain and you don't fancy going outside there is plenty to entertain yourself with.

The only thing that bothered anyone was the fact the church clock had a chime that was out of tune, but I'm not sure the owners of this property could do anything about that.

Oh and, maybe an expellair in the bathroom would be nice, it sure was steamy and damp up there when everyone had finished their shower and there didn't seem to be a safe way of opening the window without standing on the side of the bath!

Don't bother parking on Percy Street, just round the corner where the DVLA building is there's a free long stay car park which was super handy :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The crazy birds going insane over the bird feeder in the court yard.
Liked least: Can't open the windows upstairs, it got hot hot hot and steamy from the bathroom.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2014
Thank you for your feedback, and we are pleased to enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Alnwick House in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing