We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful gardens”

Howick Hall Gardens
Ranked #6 of 42 things to do in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful gardens”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We visited Howick on a perfectly calm sunny day last week and as a result got to see the gardens in their absolutely best setting! The bog garden was in full bloom and the rhododendrons and azaleas were so colourful and scented however best of all was that Lady Howick's private garden was open and so we sat on one of the benches for a while in the sun just looking at all the plants in flower and listening to the birds and bees humming around - absolute bliss. We also had lunch in the tearoom and that was also a real treat - an absolutely fantastic quiche which I couldn't finish as it was so big - nom nom nom!! All in all, I can recommend Howick as a great day out. In addition, Cragside was also another one we visited and it's another fabulous garden in the area.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jinty2cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    124
    35
    13
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
Level Contributor
163 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Wonderful gardens”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Lovely gardens to wander through and admire the plants.
The Bog garden is a special area.
Lady Howick's private garden was open on the Sunday we visited for an extra donation and was well worth a visit.
Don't miss the tea room serving wonderful cakes and the famous Earl Grey tea which was specially developed for an earlier member of the family.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffs-Angels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Wonderful gardens & classy tearoom!”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

My husband is a keen gardener and loves it here. We visit every time we are in Northumberland. In June the rhodedendrons are just fantastic. Stunning display of colours.
The bog garden is also lovely just now. The woodland area is extensive and it would take several visits to explore properly.
My favourite part is the tearoom. It is the home of earl grey tea so you would expect it to be good and it is. Waitress service - food not cheap but worth it. Lovely views out to the formal gardens.
We were there on a Saturday in June and it was quite quiet and peaceful. We will definitely be back!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank LizBroxburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whalley
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“garden”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

One of the loveliest gardens we visited. Do not miss the bog garden. Try to go Wednesday and Fridays as you can have a guided tour on those days

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank RuthRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The Secret Garden”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

It's a shame. I've lived in Northumberland for a long time and only just visited this place. Played cricket here a few times but never looked around. What a surprise. If you enjoy peaceful walks, this is the place.
My brother was up for the weekend so visited a few places and this was the first. Not many people around so you can just wonder for ages and not see people. Plenty of interesting bits of history as well.
Very clever in the way it is laid out. Simple points to locate yourself on the map; not huge great boards with a giant map that says 'YOU ARE HERE'.
Nice tea room although a 'Hello' or 'Welcome' would be nice from the staff. The girl serving us just stood next to the table and waited for us to say our order, a bit strange. Not that it really bothered us. We still had two nicely prepared meals at a very good price. Cheap to get into also so well worth a few trips a year if you’re local.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidBNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Howick Hall Gardens also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
 

Been to Howick Hall Gardens? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing