We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Aln House(Alnwick)
US$ 144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$ 299
US$ 241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 279
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Bell Inn(Embleton)
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$ 157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Braeside(Alnwick)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Alnwick Lodge(Alnwick)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
24
53
18
10
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
53
18
10
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral locationstayed for nightstown centrewould stay againcooked freshbed was very comfortablethe main streetlovely breakfastbiscuitsroad noisegood sizeper nightpubs and restaurantsb and battending a weddingthe ground floorlocal area
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2018

the guest house is not a hotel but booking .com thinks it's a hotel when you come to book it? the rooms our not bad but the parking is in the front of the guest house and up a steep kerb so not easy to get your car up. the owner is very nice and the breakfast is very good for a guest house.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank K270JHmarkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We spent 3 nights here in late September. Everyone was very friendly and an enthusiastic owner. Good sized clean room. Plenty of breakfast choice.
Parking was limited, but lots of free parking close by. Close to lots of attractions (see other reviews). Lots of eating places close by. When back in the area would stay again.

Room Tip: We were front ground floor, traffic starts build around 7:30 but you are on holiday, get up and make the most of it..
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We [husband & myself] stayed at this little establishment for 3 nights this week as we explored the delights of Alnwick. We chose it looking at previous reviews [mixed] & price. When we go on trips we are looking for a clean comfortable place to rest after a long day out & about & fairly central - we don't require a palace. It is small & very personal. Yes, some of the fittings may need a bit of attention here & there, but everything was functional & clean. A large selection of breakfasts were available & hot breakfast was freshly cooked to order & without the ridgidity of a larger dining room guests had exactly what they wanted. Although it's states 8-9am for breakfast you don't have to turn up at 8 - as long as you go in before 9 - there's plenty of time. We would definitly visit again if we return to Alnwick. The lady who assisted with the breakfasts & serviced the rooms was really friendly & helpful [stupidly didn't get her name] as was Tracy the proprieter.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 5 which was not the largest but adequate for us. No lift - ground floor rooms available. Limited parking available.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cgflady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Have just had a lovely one night stay here after attending a wedding at Newton Hall and after being let down by Queens Head Hotel but that is a different story. We were in room 5 which was at the back of the hotel. It was very clean and had everything we needed small en suite but adequite for what we needed. The breakfast was very tasty. Served to order and piping hot esrved by a very pleasant and helpful girl [sorry we didn't get your name]. Would definitely stay again. Thankyou all again Eileen and Dave x

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Booked for four nights. Had a lovely front upstairs room. Really comfy bed, en suite was small but had all you needed. Very nice shower. Breakfast was included in the price and was cooked to order and was delicious - gorgeous bacon and black pudding.

The rooms were clean and nicely decorated and staff were friendly and helpful. Felt a bit like visiting friends.

Good location for exploring the town, castle and many restaurants.

We will definitely be back and would strongly recommend Castle Gate as an ideal base for exploring the beautiful Northumberland countryside

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews