We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back to Allenheads Inn !”
Review of The Allenheads Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Allenheads
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Allenheads Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Allenheads B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Fantastic evening at Allenheads. Lovely Staff, fantastic clean warm rooms! Not sure about all the comments on here, we didn't see damp anywhere. A building of this age is going to have to quirky things to it. The food was lovely in the evening and breakfast was great. A big thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable. Can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josiejo1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 133 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

We were a party of friends staying over on Saturday night 21 Oct. All the bedrooms were booked out to us. Staff were welcoming and courteous. The bar was heaving all night with our party and some locals - staff coped really well with the big crowd, no long queues for the bar. A tasty buffet was supplied. We had a small double room with shower en suite on the top floor - bed was really comfortable with lovely crisp white cotton sheets - room was toasty warm all night. The Inn is a very old building and has some quirky features such as the slighlty sloping floor in our bedroom, after you've had a few drinks though you don't notice! Breakfast was great, husband had full English, cereal,scrambled eggs and beans on toast for me.. If you want a good meal, warm fire and comfy bed for the night then Allendale Inn comes up with the goods.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 844nippysweetie844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We stopped here as part of our C2C cycle trip
Had a great time on arrival with welcoming staff, warming fire and great beers
Good cycle storage and amazing drying room which we desparately needed
The rooms were a bit iffy and varied in standard (showers working intermitantly) but hey ho
Our evening meal was served by friendly staff and was seemingly good, but by early next morning those who had steak pie were suffering with sickness from both ends
Breakfast was the same experience as some below, unhelpfull rude staff serving very less than average food in a hurry
There arent many options on the C2C route in this area and it would be great if they could get their act together and sort these minor problems as the inn could easily be excellent

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Our group of C2C's stayed overnight at the Allendale Inn. The accomodation was by far the worst on the trip The standard of accomodation, food and cleanliness was extremely low. The rooms were damp with dirty shower trays. The stairwell to the top floor had mould growing and signs of serious dampness from a damaged roof.

We had a meal which was cooked by the chef (sorry lorry driver who needed to leave early). The food was obviously cooked earlier and just microwaved. Disgusting. The sticky toffee pudding was beyond description.

The best was to come in the morning when at breakfast the tables were that sticky and dirty the paper napkins stuck to the tables!!. We ordered scrambled egg the night before and fried eggs came. No apology just contempt.

The positive points were the bike shed was fine, there was a drying space and the location is good.

It is 10 years since I last stayed here and the place has gone to rack and ruin. Pass on by to Rookhope or Stanhope, since avoiding this place may buck the owners ideas up and ensure those establishments that have standards are rewarded with the visitors.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

What a state this place is in ! Damp is to be found in all it's forms all over the building and no amount of plug in air fresheners will help.... Unclean rooms with plenty of local wildlife do not make for a good nights sleep. Truly awfull food and average drink make this one to avoid. Sadly it's awkward if you are doing the C2C but really, try to avoid this dump at all costs.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere, no really don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank suzi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allenheads
10.1 km away
Nent Hall Country House Hotel
17.2 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,159 reviews
37.7 km away
The Old Croft House
The Old Croft House
#5 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
The Miners Arms
The Miners Arms
#4 of 14 in Alston
75 reviews
37.5 km away
Tynedale Guest House
Tynedale Guest House
#16 of 65 in Penrith
107 reviews
10.3 km away
Lovelady Shield Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Allenheads Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Allenheads Inn

Address: The Village Square, Allenheads NE47 9HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Allenheads
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Allenheads
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 18th century village inn, with letting rooms, is situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty and right on the C2C cycle route. Fine ales and big helpings of tasty food washed down with some of the best real ales on offer. Camra and good pub guide. Accommodating cyclist, walkers, loaders and in the winter skiers who visit the local ski club. Offering b&b accommodation all year round. Dogs very welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Allenheads Hotel Allenheads

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing