We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of Spice, TASTE and flavour”
Review of Tong Thai

Tong Thai
Ranked #27 of 188 Restaurants in Kettering
Price range: US$ 40 - US$ 50
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 23 January 2021

We are Indian so we are very fussy with finding a restaurant that’s generous with their flavours and know what they are doing with them. Tong Thai never fail to impress us with their amazing food. This is by FAR THE BEST Thai restaurant
Keep up the amazing work

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank Sheena K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2020 via mobile

Very welcoming staff, very attentive, fabulous tasty Thai food! Can’t wait to return....5 star!!
Always great service and lovely personal service :)

Date of visit: September 2020
2  Thank kerrydelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2020

This is a quaint small in Kettering- it serves authentic Thai food made by chefs from Thailand. The front of house service reflects the quality of the food served in a traditional Thai way - each dish is cooked to order and served when it’s ready .
The tong Thai starters are a true feast and the whole fish is simply amazing .
They have just also opened their mini gin bar and are introducing a limited menu of desserts

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank MCole20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2020

I may be a bit harsh with a 2 star review but this place let itself down .

The restaurant itself is pleasant enough but the front of house is much more interested in their busy take-away business than in incoming diners. Always a bad start.

Service at the tables likewise was affected by staff running around with take-away orders.

However our real criticism was with the main courses which were over sweetened to the point of being cloying and not very pleasant .When asked we commented on this and were effectively told in no uncertain terms that we did not know what we were talking about as Thai food is always sweet with sugar added.

Since betwwen us we had visited Thailand 4 times and eaten in numeous Thai restaurants around the UK I felt that our criticism was more than justified.

So we would not reccommend

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 322aicwhu322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2020 via mobile

Unreal whole fish with chilli, vegetables & egg fried rice. Amazing flavours & quality service, couldn’t recommend enough

Date of visit: July 2020
3  Thank RCTAKettering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tong Thai also viewed

Rothwell, Northamptonshire
Kettering, Northamptonshire
 
Kettering, Northamptonshire
Kettering, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Tong Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
India
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.